We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tyacks Hotel is aweome.”
Review of Tyacks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyacks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Reviewed September 3, 2014

The Tyack's Hotel is a beautiful historic place. Situated in mining country & very close to beautiful rugged coast lines & beautiful sandy beaches. You are close to all quaint fishing villages. The rooms in the Tyack's hotel were really nice & well kept. The food was outstanding & the hotel stall were awesome. Great beers too.
The proprietor, Mr. Tommy Adams was a fantastic host & a wonderful man, he made us feel welcome. We are flying back to Cornwall from Canada & we will stay in the Tyack's hotel again.
To anyone thinking of booking some time in Tyack's.....do it, you will love the experience.

Room Tip: Just phone ahead. The reception staff are wonderful & extremely accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

Have stayed at the Tyacks three times this year, always on business. Have a single room which is well priced and clean. Great breakfasts well cooked. Staff helpful. Shortly to book for four more nights.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gracekelly280511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Another lovely week staying in this very friendly hotel. Unfortunately on the day we arrived my husband was rushed into hospital where he stayed for 3 nights but the staff at Tyacks couldn't have been more helpful and caring. Every time they saw me they enquired how he was doing and when he was finally well enough to come out they were all genuinely pleased to see him. Our rooms were very comfortable and when we had problems with the heating they sorted it out straight away. They even managed to sort us a room for an extra night even though it was the bank holiday weekend. As per usual a very pleasant stay ( apart from the hospital bit) and we are looking forward to coming back soon. Oh yes, the breakfast menu is very good and they will do any combination you ask for. And it is well worth eating.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62suey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Its been a couple years now since I last reviewed Tyacks. I've been there a few times over the last two years for breakfast etc. However stayed away from evening meals as I felt they were trying to compete with "cheap food" offered by Weatherspoon. They have recently revamped their menu and my wife had been twice with a friend.

So we went as a family on Monday as it was my sons birthday and we'd already had the big kids party on the weekend. Most of use ordered steaks which were VERY good, some of the best steak especially at the price. The steak came with plenty of onion rings, lovely chips etc. Others in the group enjoyed their food and the whole experience was very pleasant.

At the price this is my new place to go for a lovely steak dinner. I recommend the rib eye - although even the rump was very nice!!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank swcomputers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stay at Tyacks several times a year whenever we visit Cornwall and are always impressed with the consistent quality of rooms, friendly staff and lovely breakfasts. Our latest stay was for a special family gathering and we were not disappointed. We had a large room with good internet connection and everything was spotless. We know that there are live bands on Friday and Saturday nights, but the music stops at midnight, so it is not a problem for us. You can always ask for a quiet room. We chose breakfasts from the vast menu and were served by the marvellous, smartly-attired, Cornish waitress who has been there forever! One evening 13 of us arrived for a meal (without booking) and, although there was no room for us in the restaurant, the bar was hurriedly rearranged to accommodate us. Thank you to Dave who made this happen. The hotel industry needs more Daves! We'll certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want an early night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Axiomatically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Booked tyacks as visiting from Devon for a christening. I thought the location was ideal for me being close to the a30. I stayed 3 nights our beds were made each day coffees refilled. Every morning we had free breakfast which you could have from cereals, fruit salad,Juices and cooked breakfasts or anything you could think of awesome hotel and i will be staying in October again as it was so perfect for me

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeoer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Well I have read the other reviews and feel a little unfair with my comments but here goes... We stayed in one of the family rooms and whilst it was large it lacked what I would call hotel facilities.
There was no fridge in the room, no iron in the room. The room carpet was badly stained which I have to say on first impressions made the alarm bells go off.

The breakfast was very large and the staff very friendly, we did not eat anything else in the hotel. The car park at times can have no spaces which can be a problem as available parking in the immediate area is an issue.

I paid 495 for three nights and I have to say I was a little disappointed.

As for Camborne - watch out for the tumbleweed down the high street! Although in the Costcutter across the road they had a rogues gallery of people who are prohibited to buy alcohol in town - its a place full of artists.

Great location for the Cornish coast though when accommodation is at a premium - hence the price!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank valiantlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
3.2 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
971 reviews
17 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
10.4 mi away
Penmere Manor Hotel
Penmere Manor Hotel
#16 of 24 in Falmouth
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyacks Hotel

Address: 27 Commercial Street, Camborne TR14 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range: $94 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tyacks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an eighteenth century coaching inn, the modern-day Tyacks Hotel features a range of facilities at competitive rates. We offer 15 rooms - from standard singles to luxury suites, all fully en-suite with flat screen television, alarm clock radio, hairdryer and tea and coffee-making facilities. A laundry service is also available. Free Wi-Fi is also availible.Our contemporary restaurant serves delicious food all day and can cater for functions, large or small. Our two bars boast a great range of wines, beers and spirits - choose from the lively Coach bar or the relaxed Lounge Bar. We can cater for small dinner parties up to large wedding receptions or birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tyacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyacks Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing