We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Tyacks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tyacks Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Reviewed August 5, 2014

stayed here lots of times over the years, it get better each time, wifi good in bedroom for the grandson ,great breakfast, friendly staff. bedroom are clean and light. great place to stay and good price will be back again

Room Tip: all room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank janet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 261 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and requested a quiet room. Our room was lovely and light, with hardly any noise from the bars when the live bands play. It was also spotlessly clean. The food is excellent and very reasonable in price, and you get a large meal. Breakfast is so large you struggle to finish the portions. The staff are all very friendly and helpful which makes your stay more relaxed. The position of the hotel is ideal for exploring the west of Cornwall. You won't do better but to stay here if you need a hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a most pleasant and comfortable stay at tyacks , staff were lovely and extremely helpful and polite , our room was beautiful , light airy and spotlessly clean and comfortable , the breakfast was excellent with a large choice , will be staying again next year

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I was recently down in Cornwall on a working trip. The actual working office was in a remote location and Tyacks was the nearest hotel. Having read the reviews on here and had a look at the website and very reasonable B & B rates I booked it. I arrived after a long (8hr) train journey so was a bit flagged and thirsty. The welcome was great and I had a lovely quiet room. I decided to eat in that evening and the food in the hotel was excellent. I'm a good eater and hate small portions but these were very generous. The quality was good too. In fact, after that I ate every night there. I like a decent pint and they had at least 3 St Austell real ales on draft - all well kept. The World Cup football was playing in the busier sports bar and the atmosphere was great. A tip top breakfast rounded things off. I'd go back again. in fact I am after getting more work down there. Excellent value for money and very friendly.

Room Tip: Weekends can be lively as live bands play (Fri night generally) so ask for a quiet room if its weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank richieyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My partner, young daughter and myself stayed here for one night over the weeend. Really nice helpful staff, very spacious Comfortable and clean family room with everything we needed. Nice evening meal in the restaurent and a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning. The only complaint I had was it was a bit noisy at pub closing time, apart from that a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pgirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

A quick visit to see a friend recovering from hospital surgery to which we were recommended this Hotel. Not disappointed. Ample parking space. A warm and friendly welcome at reception. We all laughed at the directions to our room. Upstairs, round corridors etc. The room was adequate and spacious. Roomy bathroom and plenty of tea and coffee. Comfy bed and a good night's sleep. Bar staff friendly. Evening meal ideal for the larger appetite. Breakfast was a sort of help yourself until the waitress came to take our order. Ample choice of cereals, juice etc.. Cooked breakfast sets you up for the day, sausage questionable quality, but lovely choice of toast. Check out was confusing because their was a mistake on our bill but it was quickly rectified. ideal for an overnight stay in Camborne.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and although furthest away from reception, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were very disappointed with our stay for a number of reasons. The receptionist/duty manager looking after the checkin was quite unfriendly and unwelcoming. We felt that we were disturbing his very important work by checking in. The bar staff and waitresses were much friendlier.
The sleep quality was very poor with paper thin curtains that let in so much light that there was no chance of staying asleep past 5 am on a sunny June morning.
Breakfast was very poor quality with lukewarm food and sausages with a very strange texture. I also have never been given a small pot of tea that contained four tea bags. Too strong to drink. These may seem minor things but together they spoilt our stay. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerCamborne, Guest Relations Manager at Tyacks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

CaribbeanJohn, I can only apologise for your recent stay here at the Tyacks hotel. We pride ourselves in having friendly and helpful staff, and I am deeply disappointed that you were not made to feel welcome within our establishment by the on duty manager. I have taken action with regards to the curtains, and I am currently looking to replace the curtains that are not up to the standard for keeping out the light. It is also very disappointing to hear about the breakfast being lukewarm, as we do usually get very positive comments with this, and all of our meat products are from the same local supplier of good quality meats, delivered fresh every day. However, we do like feedback whether it is good or bad, as we need to know the areas that work and the areas that need improving. Again, I apologise for your recent stay, and hope you may change your mind, and try us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camborne
0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
3.2 mi away
Penventon Park Hotel
Penventon Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Redruth
1,292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The County Arms
The County Arms
#4 of 4 in Truro
457 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
941 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Hayle
Travelodge Hayle
#2 of 3 in Hayle
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyacks Hotel

Address: 27 Commercial Street, Camborne TR14 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Camborne
Price Range: $85 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tyacks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an eighteenth century coaching inn, the modern-day Tyacks Hotel features a range of facilities at competitive rates. We offer 15 rooms - from standard singles to luxury suites, all fully en-suite with flat screen television, alarm clock radio, hairdryer and tea and coffee-making facilities. A laundry service is also available. Free Wi-Fi is also availible.Our contemporary restaurant serves delicious food all day and can cater for functions, large or small. Our two bars boast a great range of wines, beers and spirits - choose from the lively Coach bar or the relaxed Lounge Bar. We can cater for small dinner parties up to large wedding receptions or birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tyacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tyacks Hotel Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing