We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, hidden gem tucked away in the Cornwall countryside”
Review of Drym Farm

Drym Farm
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camborne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drym Farm
Ranked #5 of 9 Camborne B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, hidden gem tucked away in the Cornwall countryside”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

We loved this charming, tasteful and classy gem of a B&B, tucked away in the Cornwall countryside. Jan was an extremely gracious hostess and very accommodating to our 3 year old. She never intruded and yet was always there to give helpful advice and tips, truly helping us to make the most of our short time in Cornwall.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtle72London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    0
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Of the scores of B&B's where I've been in many parts of the world, this is one of the best, and the innkeeper, Jan Bright, is by far the most helpful and congenial owner I've encountered anywhere. My wife and I spent three nights here with our daughter, her husband, and their 3-year-old. It was a delightful time. Every morning over a leisurely and delicious breakfast that offered a broad range of delicious dishes using local produce, Jan answered our questions about where to walk by the sea, what charming villages to visit, which restaurants to enjoy. Her recommendations were always spot on. Somehow she instinctively tuned into our tastes and advised us perfectly. Not only that, she lent us a detailed road map, a guidebook of walking trails, and even an adjustable walking stick for my wife, who had forgotten hers. Without Jan, we would have floundered around a bit, I think, never having been to Cornwall before. The rooms were pleasant, the beds comfortable, and the gardens lovely. I'm glad we came all the way from the States for these few days, and I hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is a wonderful b and b. It's a beautiful old farmhouse in the middle of the countryside - a great place to rest and relax, and a superb base for exploring Cornwall. Jan is the perfect host - she gave us a warm and friendly welcome and was a great source of useful tips on places to visit and where to eat. And she makes a delicious breakfast, with home made and locally sourced ingredients. We stayed for 2 nights over Easter - I only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondonW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

Drym Farm is such a delightful place to stay. We have stayed a number of times whilst visiting family in the area, because Drym is so comfortable and you feel so at home. Jan is so warm and helpful, and keeps the place spotless. The breakfasts are wonderful; fresh and beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

It makes you addicted to stay in Jan's peaceful and calm place surrounded by pure nature. We spent our easter holidays at Drym Farm and can't wait to come back. We have been fallen in love with that particular place.

From your very cosy and clean room (and from your very huge bathroom as well) you can see the pheasants in the morning and listen to the blackbird's songs. It is perfectly situated between the north and the southcoast and a great starting point for long walks at the Cornish Coastal Path.

The breakfast is fantastic and prepared with love, to vary from the homemade muesli to organic salmon and scrambled eggs.

And always trust Jan's outstanding restaurant-recommendations!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SabineandHans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We spent four nights at Drym Farm and wished that we could have been there longer. The food was delicious especially the home made bread and the "house muesli". Our room was spotless, comfortable and warm. The bathroom was pristine and kept so throughout our stay.The house full of character was utterly delightful and filled with interesting books and artefacts.

Jan could not have been more helpful. Arriving late she took control and immediately booked us into a local establishment for a meal. She recommended excellent restaurants and pubs and was keen to suggest various attractions. She was friendly, welcoming and most approachable. An air of warmth and calm exuded from her which set the scene for a most memorable holiday. Her interest in art and her love of Cornwall all added to the charm of Drym.

The weather like Drym Farm was perfect. What more could one ask? All in all this was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Artura025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2008

My wife had already visited Drym farm and had such a lovely time there that she booked a surprise break there for us for 4 nights.

It's off the beaten track, and you have to be careful to follow the directions well in order to find it - it's pretty much equidistant between the north and south coasts, and you can reach either in 15 to 20 minutes by car.

The farmhouse itself is beautiful, with lots of character and surrounded by a lovely garden and trees. You're well placed to see the stars here.

We had a double room which was spacious, comfortable and pristine. The inside of the house is similar to the outside in that it has lots of character and period features. We had a bathroom which was almost as large as the bedroom. Everything was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay.

Jan the proprietor was very friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area and was able to provide especially good suggestions on the best places to eat, how busy the venues were likely to get and when minimum times to book to ensure a table. We ate out fantastically every night.

The breakfasts, cooked by Jan using locally sourced organic produce, were exceptionally good. We just had to try everything during our stay, and our breakfasts included the full english, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and fantastic home prepared prunes with yoghurt, plus toast and cereal.

It's a really lovely place to stay and we are very much planning to return.

  • Liked — Character and location
  • Disliked — I couldn't stand a spoon up in my coffee how I like to.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SoulSaxMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camborne hotels
4.3 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Vyvyan Arms Hotel
The Vyvyan Arms Hotel
#6 of 9 in Camborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clowance Estate
Clowance Estate
#1 of 1 in Camborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Camborne Hotel
4.3 mi away
Tyacks Hotel
Tyacks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Camborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lowenac Hotel
Lowenac Hotel
#4 of 5 in Camborne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drym Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drym Farm

Property: Drym Farm
Address: Drym | Praze, Camborne TR14 0NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Camborne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Camborne
Also Known As:
Drym Farm Camborne, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing