We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was brilliant!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Front of proprty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck Side of property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck
Side of property
Lounge area with dining space to rear
Lounge area with kitchen and breakfast bar to rear
Bedroom area, trying to get a good pic of the skylight it tricky!
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Roy Alan...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“It was brilliant!”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We absolutely loved this place. The building is very well designed and the roof window above the bed made for plenty of stargazing. Everything is provided for a comfortable stay and we couldn't think of anything else we might require. Very tranquil and waking up to the birdsong is lovely. Also the rest of the wildlife including squirrels and some inquisitive pheasants and sheep in the adjoining field. Very handy for the coast and main roads to travel further into Cornwall as we did. The narrow lanes can be a challenge at first but you soon get used to them. Friendly, pleasant owners who are proud of their place - and rightly so.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole country experience
Liked least: There was nothing negative for us
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2016
Thank you for such a positive review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex W
Vincentia, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Most Well Thought Out Layout”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Welcome on arrival by Max and introduction to facilities could not have been better.
Later he came with some freshly picked plums. They were delicious.
What a well-designed spacious apartment. The layout was comfortable with nice views to grassed areas.
Bedroom was comfortable with the big atrium type skylight adding pizazz (could be covered if so desired).
Shower had good pressure.
Approach to The Stables is along a narrow lane for .8 of a mile. Not something we as Australians were completely comfortable with. Otherwise geographic location is excellent for touring surrounding areas.
Have rated as 3 but consider it could easily be lifted to a full top level 5 if a few steps were taken.
Small moths were a problem in the place. Not sure if their natural habitat is in the general area or if they were confined to the apartment. Their presence continued throughout our stay against our best efforts to get rid of them. They need eradication.
Some spiders (and webs). Not good when a spider shares your bed while sleeping.
Overall the apartment needed a good deep clean.
Reconsider kitchen utensil items; a couple of wine glasses could help.
Parking a bit tight being in shared driveway with large motorhome.
Put aside the narrow lane access in considering the rating. So much to recommend this place.
A bit of a rethink by owner would easily, in our opinion, make this excellent value for money and deserve a top rating.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Spacious well designed layout
Liked least: Moths and cleanlines
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaSharm...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Cornish getaway with all mod cons - good value”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Considerate, warm welcome and great local advice.
Open plan, airy and a wonderful afternoon/evening sun trap.
Wonderfully efficient hot water/heating system.
Tucked away down some single track lanes, but for me this was part of it's charm. Quick and convenient for Callington and a good base for driving to the coast.
Yes, lots of mini beasts came in as soon as the doors/windows were opened but this didn't bother us: after all it's the countryside! And a good indication that harsh agricultural chemicals are not in use in this area.

Liked best: We felt very comfortable here and could see the Milky Way and other constellations: it was magical...
Liked least: really hard to think of anything but if you insist I would say that the sofas and rug probably needed a bit of a going over, but too be honest that's just being nit picky.

I would love to visit here again.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, modern, peaceful, lots of natural light, away from the city, a great escape, our host cared that we had a good stay, good value
Liked least: Sofas and rug could have done with a bit of a clean but that's just being nit picky!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2DJT
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our second visit - says it all”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Jo and I had become parents to a baby girl only 6 weeks ago and a break was badly needed. Max - clearly a family man, arrived to welcome us all with fresh eggs and he made a fuss over baby Sarah, which was a nice start to a relaxing break. The Stables is well kitted-out with comfy sofas, children's toys, adult board games and wifi/tv, which made all the difference as we were there during the Cornish monsoon. Looe and Bude are within easy striking distance and we managed to break away during a couple of dry spells. The Stables sits on a plot next to the family home but it is discretely located away from the house and offers great privacy. Max's father and the groundsman while friendly, respect people's privacy and give plenty of space. I really do recommend The Stables to anyone who want to break away from the hurly burly of city life.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2015
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your second stay with us.

Peace and love to your growing little family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chainhurs...
Roche, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location for those seeking to get away from it all”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This converted stable block provided the ideal location from which to explore Cornwall. Accessible only via narrow lanes, it is quiet, secluded and peaceful. The accommodation provided everything needed in terms of comfortable beds, cooking facilities, refrigerator and so on, and an unexpected bonus was the friendliness and warmth of our neighbours from across the lane, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. A big "thank you" both to the owner and to the neighbours; we really could not have chosen a better location.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion, peace, tranquility and the neighbours.
Liked least: Nothing -- there was nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazzarati...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place, quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Stables is a lovely annexe that was very peaceful and relaxing. if your a looking for a rural property with a nice aspect and easy open plan style them this is definitely an option. parking is easy and the gardens and decking nice to sit out in. On the negative side, it would benefit from a deep clean, and perhaps new linens. Overall however the place has good facilities, is very centrally located and we did enjoy our stay.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Cleanliness overall
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the location. Its a real haven away from the hustle and bustle even at the height of the summer season.

Sorry you felt the cleaning wasn't up to scratch. We scrub the place and love making it spotless for guests, so I don't understand why it not been so for you. Noted about the linen. All new for the next guests.

Thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracydawn...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very quiet, spacious and pleasant location”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The utensils for cooking with were a little limited, the crockery also was quite sparce especially if there had been four of us. The cleaning needs to be more thorough, there were a lot of cobwebs and a family of moths staying in the bathroom!
If the above is sorted out it would be much more an enjoyable stay, the place itself is very nice.
Do make sure you get good directions - it is a little out of the way.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious the place was
Liked least: Lack of cleaniness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Im glad you enjoyed the locataion, its is a beautifyl spot. And I'm sorry things weren't up to scratch.

The glasses, crockery and cuttery are 4 person sets. I will get another to make sure there are two of everything for each person staying.

We've never had a complaint about the cleanliness, we really scrub the place between bookings. I will see how I can reduce the number of spiders and moths, but its such a rural location they do tend to come with the territory. We don't use any strong chemicals in the property but I will look in to a natural deterrent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing