We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for those seeking to get away...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Front of proprty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck Side of property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck
Side of property
Lounge area with dining space to rear
Lounge area with kitchen and breakfast bar to rear
Bedroom area, trying to get a good pic of the skylight it tricky!
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Chainhurs...
Roche, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location for those seeking to get away from it all”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This converted stable block provided the ideal location from which to explore Cornwall. Accessible only via narrow lanes, it is quiet, secluded and peaceful. The accommodation provided everything needed in terms of comfortable beds, cooking facilities, refrigerator and so on, and an unexpected bonus was the friendliness and warmth of our neighbours from across the lane, who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. A big "thank you" both to the owner and to the neighbours; we really could not have chosen a better location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion, peace, tranquility and the neighbours.
Liked least: Nothing -- there was nothing to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazzarati...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place, quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Stables is a lovely annexe that was very peaceful and relaxing. if your a looking for a rural property with a nice aspect and easy open plan style them this is definitely an option. parking is easy and the gardens and decking nice to sit out in. On the negative side, it would benefit from a deep clean, and perhaps new linens. Overall however the place has good facilities, is very centrally located and we did enjoy our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location
Liked least: Cleanliness overall
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the location. Its a real haven away from the hustle and bustle even at the height of the summer season.

Sorry you felt the cleaning wasn't up to scratch. We scrub the place and love making it spotless for guests, so I don't understand why it not been so for you. Noted about the linen. All new for the next guests.

Thanks for your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracydawn...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very quiet, spacious and pleasant location”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The utensils for cooking with were a little limited, the crockery also was quite sparce especially if there had been four of us. The cleaning needs to be more thorough, there were a lot of cobwebs and a family of moths staying in the bathroom!
If the above is sorted out it would be much more an enjoyable stay, the place itself is very nice.
Do make sure you get good directions - it is a little out of the way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious the place was
Liked least: Lack of cleaniness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2015
Im glad you enjoyed the locataion, its is a beautifyl spot. And I'm sorry things weren't up to scratch.

The glasses, crockery and cuttery are 4 person sets. I will get another to make sure there are two of everything for each person staying.

We've never had a complaint about the cleanliness, we really scrub the place between bookings. I will see how I can reduce the number of spiders and moths, but its such a rural location they do tend to come with the territory. We don't use any strong chemicals in the property but I will look in to a natural deterrent.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison P
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful place to relax surrounded by lovely countryside”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My partner and I came here to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. I think it was one of the most peaceful places I’ve ever been. The stables is tucked away at the foot of a hill and surrounded by mature trees and hedgerows. Most of the time the only sound we could hear was the wind in the trees, the birds twittering and the chickens clucking to each other. The accommodation is very well maintained with everything you could need and is set far enough away from the owners house that you feel you have enough privacy. A real gem and a lovely little getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
Thank you for your positive comments. Comgratulations on your aniversery! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you choose to stay with us again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineOwl...
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay surrounded in countryside”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed at the Stables for two nights as a break for our Wedding anniversary before continuing on to stay with family further down in Cornwall. The owner was extremely helpful and even allowed us to drop our luggage off early, as he had no one in the day before, so that we could go off and enjoy the day! We were even greeted with some lovely fresh eggs from the chickens which we all really enjoyed! We loved the spacious feel to the accommodation and really enjoyed being able to watch the stars when we went to bed! Our sons enjoyed the fact that there was a Fire Pit outside, so one evening we managed to get a fire going! There was a lovely area outside to spend the evening in - we even had a rabbit pop up near by. Everything including bed linen and towels was included so it meant we didn't have to bring loads of things with us! (Even things like coffee and sugar - which was really nice!) The accommodation is really peaceful due to it being in the middle of the countryside - although you do have to take narrow lanes to find it! Not a problem for us as we are not on holiday unless we have driven down at least one road with grass in the middle of it! Although further from the coast it does not take that long to drive there. We had some lovely walks along the coastline near Looe and Polperro. Kit's hill was also enjoyable - great views of both Bodmin Moor and Dartmoor plus views of the mouth of the river Tamar. We also enjoyed an evening visit to Golitha Falls - in fact for a couple of days we covered quite a lot of ground.

We would definitely consider stopping off again for a few nights on our way down to see our family and would highly recommend it to others.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2015
Thank you for such a positions be review. Its lovely when guests enjoy the place. I agree with your sons, sitting around the fire pit in the evening and watching the stars is my idea of heaven. Best wishes and would love to have you stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty M
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a small family!”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family of 3 stayed at The Stables over the school holidays. It was a great base to explore Cornwall. Max and his parents were great hosts and couldn't have helped more. Max replied to us very quickly when we had questions. The garden was perfect and we enjoyed the fire/bbq every night. We would highly recommend a stay at The Stables to anyone. P.s the wifi is great and a welcome addition to be able to contact friends and family whilst we were away!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2015
Thank you, we try to ensure guests have everything they need and is lovely when that's appreciated. Hope you see you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris R
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovelly”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from our stay at the Stables and it was lovelly. We were welcomed at the gate by Jim and shown around and to our suprise we were welcomed by fresh cut flowers on the table and tea ,coffe, and fresh milk. i would highly recommend this property it is a very well designed accomadation and is in a very quiet spot all you can hear is the birds singing. We will definatly be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2015
Thanks for such positive feedback. Its a pleasure to be able to share this space with people. It would be wonder to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing