We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovelly”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Stables

Front of proprty
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck Side of property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Front of proprty
Main entrance and sun deck
Side of property
Lounge area with dining space to rear
Lounge area with kitchen and breakfast bar to rear
Bedroom area, trying to get a good pic of the skylight it tricky!
Dining area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Chris R
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovelly”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from our stay at the Stables and it was lovelly. We were welcomed at the gate by Jim and shown around and to our suprise we were welcomed by fresh cut flowers on the table and tea ,coffe, and fresh milk. i would highly recommend this property it is a very well designed accomadation and is in a very quiet spot all you can hear is the birds singing. We will definatly be returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2015
Thanks for such positive feedback. Its a pleasure to be able to share this space with people. It would be wonder to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceLill...
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Sanctuary in a truly Beautiful setting, Very Peaceful”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely little retreat tucked out of the way in beautiful Cornish countryside, however still a very accessible 10 min drive into Callington. Was made to feel very welcome by the owner who had gone to much effort to provide all that anyone could need. Fresh flowers on the table, milk in the fridge, tea & coffee ~ and the place was lovely and cosy. The bedroom has a pyramid window above the very comfortable bed ~ Full moon and star gazing was my nightly pleasure, so lovely that it seemed a shame to have to sleep. Wonderful to sit and watch and listen to the wildlife whilst having breakfast, there are lots of garden birds, woodpeckers, tits, robins, tuneful blackbirds and the occasional buzzard soaring high above the wooded hills, inquisitive squirrels doing their trapeze act along telegraph wires and some very handsome chickens. The TV was not working when I arrived, after a quick email to the owner his Father arrived tried his best to fix it, not able to mend it, the next evening when I arrived back from my course, there was a brand new TV. These lovely folks just show they care without in the slightest intrusion or fuss.
I would recommend this to anyone as a lovely place to stay and I will certainly go there again if ever in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pryamid window above the bed for stargazing
Liked least: Having to leave and go home!
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2015
I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the positive feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyLawl...
1 review
“Good value”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Lovely apartment, friendly owners, quiet and accessible location - perfect for a easter getaway to the South East

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
Thank you for your positive comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the property and hope you will come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smoerebro...
Holsbybrunn, Sweden
1 review
“Friendly place”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The little house is very cosy and perfect for two, but also good with young children. It is silent, the bed is comfortable and the owner is very, very friendly. We got fresh eggs one morning and Mr. Caley was very helpful with any questions we had. There were even lillies on the dining table when we arrived!

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
Thank you for staying with us and I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. The thank you note you left was lovely. I'm glad you enjoyed the eggs. Can't get much fresher than laid that morning a few meters from your apartment. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“tranquil”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely place to stay, had all what you needed, good nights sleep & the skylight above the bed great to watch the stars! will be coming back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful & set in lovely surroundings.
Liked least: Nothing all was fine.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2015
It was a pleasure meeting you and thank you for the positive feedback. We think its a wonderful spot and love sharing it with people. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon1T
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely two week break!”
Reviewed January 29, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I am delighted to have visited The Stables in January 2015 and highly recommend a stay here.

Having experienced inadequate heating in the past, I chose The Stables for a number of reasons - location, reviews, internet access and the nice looking interior - but mainly because I would have the ability to control the temperature within the apartment. It might sound strange to some, but having experienced freezing cold sleepless nights in the past due to owners controlling the temperature and having set times which never quite suited me, I was thrilled to have found this place. I was really comfortable throughout my stay, especially during the freezing cold weeks we've just experienced!

Another highlight for me was the views out of the large windows at the front of the apartment, watching the birds of prey circling in the sky. Heaven!

The location of The Stables itself is lovely with a good sized forest nearby and plenty of cycle routes. As it's situated near Callington, you have easy access to all of Cornwall and Devon. There is parking at the property too which was great.

Communication from Max, the owner, was excellent from the very beginning and it carried through to when I arrived at the property and when I left. They are a genuinely unobtrusive, hospitable family who are lovely and provided me with a fantastic, clean and spacious apartment.

Thank you Max and family, I hope to return for another visit soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2015
Thank your for your positive feedback. Is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Stables.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coors2704
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a truly relaxing break in the Cornish countryside and thoroughly recommend The Stables. The apartment was tucked away in a very quiet part of the countryside. To hear a car drive past was an event! The location was still close enough to be within a short driving distance from everything the wonderful Tamar Valley has to offer. The apartment itself is well maintained and very clean. Even in September we were able to sit outside in the evening by the fire pit and enjoy a bottle of wine. Our hosts were wonderful and made sure we were made welcome and looked after without fuss. We would definitely hope to re-visit next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location & our hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2015
Thank for such a positive review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Stables and look forward to welcoming you in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing