We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent base to explore”
other travelers have booked this property
The Shippen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Shippen
The enclosed drive, garden and patio with a wooden gate at the entrance. The sunny patio area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Shippen
The enclosed drive, garden and patio with a wooden gate at the entrance.
The sunny patio area.
The Shippen is the first barn on the right as you come down the lane.
Reception is at Pitt Barn, the second barn on the right as you come down the country lane.
Bodmin moor from The Shippen.
Sunset at Pitt lake. A double reflection on the lake from the solar farm.
The Shippen is behind the trees to the left of Pitt Barn.
See the moorhen with her chicks and nest of sticks.
See the mallard duck with her ducklings.
See the duckling in the garden.
Can you see the great spotted woodpecker in the tree?
See the sheep in the field beside The Shippen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tripper98...
Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent base to explore”
Reviewed July 20, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Had an excellent holiday at the Shippen cottage. Very quiet location but not far from everything Cornwall has to offer visitors. Cottage was clean and comfortable with everything needed provided, just bring your clothes and toiletries and your ready to go. Would stay again to further explore the delights of Cornwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2018
So glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet at The Shippen. Thank you for your great review. We always love to know people would like to return to Cornwall and our cottages.l
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 7, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paradise7...
1 review
“will definitely be going back again.”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great location, a number of great beaches and places of interest nearby. Beautifully presented and beautifully clean. Owner was very pleasant and helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Thank you for your excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RustyBrit
Pickering, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent budget priced accommodation in a convenient location”
Reviewed October 12, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Frances has a nice clean self catering property that is not overly large, but plenty big enough for the main purpose of a quiet vacation - namely sleeping soundly at night. Kitchen space is adequate and the lounge area is comfortable and tidy. There is no real starter fare in the kitchen, so be advised that you need to arrive with juice and milk etc, and possibly some sugar and other necessities. However, at these very attractive prices this is no hardship as I would expect no more. Frances is a charming host with bags of local knowledge and advice on what to see, and she set us straight about a few misconceptions that would otherwise have wasted our brief touring time schedule . Altogether superb value.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your short stay in Cornwall at The Shippen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal central location for exploring eastern Cornwall”
Reviewed September 27, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The Shippen is an ideal base for exploring the eastern side of Cornwall with easy access by car (or train) to Plymouth and the coastal villages. The little cottage is in a very quiet and private rural location with its own car parking and is ideal for a couple wanting a relaxed holiday. A car is essential as even the nearest village is a few miles away along roads without pavements. Had it not been for our SatNav we would have not found it so quickly as there are lots of very narrow country lanes to get lost in! The cottage is pristine and comfortable though we thought the two bedrooms were rather small. However they have adequate cupboard and drawer storage. The living/kitchen area is very well fitted out with all you need for a self catering holiday. Good local restaurants are a short drive away. The wifi is free and works very well, as does the TV. As it rained almost every day of our holiday, we always looked forward to returning to the warmth and comfort of the Shippen! However, even on the rainy days there was always something of interest to see or do ..... the Eden Project is a must!

Frances, the owner, is extremely friendly and helpful and we even found we had something in common having bought taught in Sheffield in the past! Communications with her prior to our visit were very efficient.

We unreservedly recommend the Shippen to any one wanting a very reasonably priced, quiet and private base for exploring this area of Cornwall or beyond.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Shippen in Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage in the countryside”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from staying at The Shippen Barn and we will be back!!
This is an amazing place with everything any person or family would or could need
Beautifully converted barn with amazing views.Fantastic location for peace and quiet and also for visiting various parts of Cornwall.The owners also the nicest people you could ever meet.Can't wait to come back.Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Shippen. We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen G
1 review
“Warm, Cosy cottage:”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We enjoyed our stay immensely. The owners were friendly and helpful and we had the very thing we needed int the Shippen. It was a great location for traveling to other parts of Cornwall and we recommend the Tamar trails centre where we did the Big Zip. The Shippen was warm and comfortable with good wifi. A quiet location which was just what we wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
So pleased you enjoyed the peace and quiet of The Shippen and thank you for mentioning that our wi-fi connection is good. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to beautiful Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing