We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You know those people you see on breakfast...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

xajimx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You know those people you see on breakfast commercials? We felt like that when we were in The Shippen”
Reviewed April 18, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage really made us feel like home (though we're not locals!). Everything we need is all in the barn. It was squeaky clean that we felt embarrassed to use the kitchen! The surrounding area is really nice. It's pitch dark at night and it's worth bringing scopes to observe the night sky. Although, not to whine, but we couldn't manage to get any coverage in the cottage. As a traveler, I was not able to browse through my phone to see the map but hey, what do I expect, it's far off from the metropolitan busyness, might as well enjoy the nature than flicking through the gadgets right? Cheers Frances for being a lovely lovely host and paid us a visit

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decoration of the house
Liked least: Not being able to get any coverage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
What can we say but a big thankyou for your super comments. We are so pleased you had a super time at The Shippen and in Cornwall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natzsmith...
1 review
“An amazing and beautiful converted barn, in a lovely quiet area.”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The barn is cosy and nicely decorated and contains everything you need. The views are peaceful and you feel very relaxed. The lady who owns it is very welcoming, friendly and provides everything you need. The barn is in a great location and has private parking. So happy we found this little gem. We will def be going back.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay at The Shippen. Thankyou for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john f
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent could not be better”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed at the shippen there was everything you needed the place was so quiet and relaxing the scenery was brill .for people that like wildlife it was great.frances and colin were so hospitable .look round there garden .we went most places looe.newquay.etc.local super market tescos in callington. would highley recomend if you want a bit of peace and quiet on a evening loved it

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesBrow...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing value - very pleased customers”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 4 nights at The Shippen.
Frances was very helpful with plenty of info about the surrounding areas and Cornwall. The place was cute and fit for purpose. Its very private with its own drive and outdoor seating area and even a BBQ pit.

I propsed to my partner while staying there (at the top of Kit Hill Park), so it will be in my memories forever. Thanks Frances!

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very private
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete H
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“PERFECT”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Wanted a cottage where we could get peace and quiet. PERFECT !. Great host , very clean. Ideal if you want to explore the Moors.

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1987danny
Reading
1 review
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Very clean and very helpful owners. Nice quiet location and within driving distance of the sites of cornwall

Date of stay: June 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thankyou
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missjane...
brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hosts, top location, ideal for self-catering”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I travelled from Brisbane to Cornwall in England in July 2013 at short notice to attend to family business and stayed in The Shippen while we were B&B “hopping”. We returned in April 2014 to finalise the family business and thankfully were able to secure The Shippen for the duration of our stay, which was three weeks. We were seeking to self-cater and it was perfect for our needs. We called it our “haven” when we returned after a busy day. The Shippen contains all the amenities we required, was clean and very comfortable, and we had plenty of room to spread out.

Hosts Frances and Colin could not have been more helpful – they were not intrusive at all, but were there if we needed them, and they provided some excellent “local” advice that we put to good use. The booking process was very simple and the rate is excellent value for what is provided. The location is lovely and quiet, but is not remote and would provide a good base for touring. And it was wonderful for us city folk to have some rural “neighbours” in the form of sheep and lambs, and also some rabbits, so close by.

We would not hesitate in recommending Pitt Barn Cottages to anyone who wishes to stay for a quiet holiday (Frances has a lovely large garden and pond to explore), or to use as a “base” for some serious touring. We certainly hope there will be a vacancy next time we head over to England!

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and central to all parts of Cornwall. Friendly and knowledgable hosts. Had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
Liked least: Having to go into the garden to use wifi - minor issue. Gardens are beautiful.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thankyou for your wonderful comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.