We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing half term holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Robin's Nest

Robin's Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robin's Nest
Relax in our Hot tub Sunny living space with sun balcony for 'al fresco' dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Robin's Nest
Relax in our Hot tub
Sunny living space with sun balcony for 'al fresco' dining
Living room / dining room
Kitchen - complete with washing maching and dishwasher
Bedroom 2 - light and airy room with twin beds
Bedroom 3 (2 x 2'6 beds)
Bathroom
Shower room
We are dog friendly - free of charge
No trip to Cornwall is complete without a cream tea or two
Enchanting Polperro
So many fantastic beaches to enjoy and explore
Nearby Calstock viaduct - follow the Tamar river walk from Cotehele to Calstock
Plymouth Hoe at sunset
Children's play area
Padstow with it's harbour - begin the Camel trail from here
Nearby Tavistock with it's pannier market and river walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kerri E
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing half term holiday”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This holiday cottage is 5*, much better than we imagined. It is in a lovely position with its own private drive. The cottage is decorated to a high standard and extremely clean and welcoming with comfy beds, lovely leather lounge sofas and rattan furniture on the balcony. Downstairs there are three good sized bedrooms, a shower room and a bathroom. Upstairs are the lounge/diner, kitchen and balcony. The kitchen is very well equipped including a dishwasher and washing machine. The hot tub was the cherry on the cake and we really enjoyed using it after our long walks in the Cornish countryside. We will defo stay again and have already recommended this place to friends. Thank you Dee & Robin for a great cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2017
Hi Kerri - Thank you so much for your lovely review - and so quick ;-) It has been a pleasure and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. We hope you had a safe journey home
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic woodland retreat”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from a blissful week long holiday from this lovely place. The house is charming, just the right size for 6 adults, although the 8 it says it would accommodate would have been a squeeze. Clean, nicely decorated and furnished, well equipped and peaceful. Plenty of parking, balcony with tree views and of course the hot tub, which we all enjoyed. The park has a reception, bar, restaurant and family entertainment such as quiz night, bingo and a children's disco, but was small and friendly rather than large and crowded. There are indoor and outdoor pools, a gym and a games room. It's not like some of the larger family parks but that's what we loved. It was peaceful and pleasant. Well placed for us to visit both coasts of Cornwall from Polperro to Plymouth. The only downsides were a damaged cupboard which we had understood was going to be fixed, but this did not spoil our stay, and the hot tub was looking a bit murky by the end, despite our best efforts so we avoided it on the last day. Some bits both in and out needing a bit of a repaint and a tidy up, hence the 4 rather than 5, but we would definitely visit again and highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2017
Hi Karen

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

When my husband came to view the cupboard he was told that it wasn't bothering you so to leave it, he therefore repaired it when you had left, so sorry if there was a misunderstanding. The hot tub is checked daily so any issue would have been picked up and addressed. I am not sure what you are referring to with regard to repainting but I am assuming there has been some wear and tear through the summer which will naturally be addressed at the end of the season.
Best wishes

Dee & Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knowsley
Reviewed August 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2017
Hi there - Thank you for the review - We are pleased that you had a good holiday despite the issue with pricing via Holiday lettings. Please do contact us direct if you would like to come back and we will be happy to have you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Howard F
Brighton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Booked this as a special treat for our eldest daughter who has special needs but has stayed in the lodge before. It's a very comfortable lodge with all your usual home facilities, didn't need to ask for anything extra. There are some good amenities on site such as an excellent indoor swimming pool and mini gym. It was too cold to use the outdoor pool - maybe next time! The bar is good (real ale!) but I cannot comment on the restaurant as we had no need of it. It is only a short drive to other facilities eg; Tesco in Callington, the Red Panda Chinese restaurant and takeaway (also in Callington and a number of good pubs in the area or (again) a short drive into Tavistock. There is every possibility we will book Robin's Nest again as it makes an ideal base for travelling around, sight seeing etc.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2017
Hello Howard, Thank you for the lovely review - we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davesy
U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“SUPERB AND EXCEEDED EXPECTATION”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We recently visited this lovely holiday home for a week as a party of 4 adults and a 5 year old. The property is very nicely decorated and well furnished. Everything was provided and the owners have obviously gone the extra mile to ensure that guests have a comfortable stay. The lodge is situated in a lovely semi secluded position high up the valley and just a short walk up a fairly steep icline to the main site clubhouse and pool buildings. Unlike most others on the site this lodge has its own private driveway with room for 3 cars. Everything in the lodge was very clean and we were pleased to see that the hot tub gets maintenance regularly and a full drain down and refill between guests. The site grounds could do with a bit more maintenance as some vegetation is overgrowing pathways but this is of course outside the remit of the lodge owners and is just a minor point. We only used the site bar once as found that the drinks were pricey and other guests said that the food was poor. That said there is an excellent restaurant called Louis tea rooms a short drive away that we kept going back to after a superb first visit. The indoor pool was also clean and safe and there was a small games room with table tennis and pool table. We have already recommended this property to friends and neighbours and hope to return ourselves again sometime. Overall a great central place to stay to visit Cornwall and Devon. Big thank you to the owner Dee for helping to make our holiday so special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2017
Hi there

Thank you for such a lovely review - it is very much appreciated. It appears that the only negative was your comment on the bar - pleased to say it was taken over in October, prices are below local pubs and there are 2 new chefs who offer great meals at reasonable prices so we hope that if you do come back for a return visit you will give it a try.

Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Reviewed August 15, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The hot tub
Liked least: when hot tub was'nt working
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2016
Hi there - thank you for such a lovely review - we look forward to welcoming you back anytime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
john b
1 review
“great location for devon & cornwall attractions”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

what a wonderful place to stay, great base for both devon and cornwall attractions. nice size lodge, hot tub got a lot of use. very clean. will be going again. my only complaint is that when somewhere says dog friendly, that doesn't mean you can let it crap without picking it up. told a lady her dogs left something in front of my car, she just looked at me in disgust and walked off. please pick up after your dogs. you wouldn't like me calling at your lodge and pooping in your hot tub would you? thanks dee and robin, see you again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: irresponsable dog owners
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
Hi John

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the lodge - so pleased that you will be coming back to see us ! With a private driveway to our lodge it is unfortunate that you had to clear up after someone else's dog ! As you say it is not fair. There are numerous signs around asking owners to pick up but unfortunately it is not always adhered to.

See you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing