We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious stunning house beautifully decorated...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Patio area
Patio area from private seating area
Kitchen
Sitting room
Double bedroom (king size bed)
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Swing seat in garden
Aerial photo of property
Ruin in garden with seating, great for drinks, BBQ or take a book!
Seating area in barn
Annexe with extra accommodation. Please enquire for quote, if required.
Bed in annexe. Please enquire for quote, if required,
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
victoriaw...
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious stunning house beautifully decorated, huge gardens, rural & quiet”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

You couldn't fault the house or the owners, beautiful gardens perfect for a big bbq get together with friends or family, lovely welcome grocery pack on arrival and two very friendly doggies that came to say hello.
Great if you want a rural base to visit the tamar valley area, only about an hours drive to the bigger western Cornwall tourist areas.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic cottage, with lovely decor and linens, and every detail thought of! Amazing grounds, fantastic for children to run about and explore. And very quiet and safe. Brilliant hosts, friendly and nothing too much trouble! Would love to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabel L
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
1 review
“To have peace and quiet from the rat-race this cottage is ideal.”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Extensive grounds to wonder around including an old woods in which I saw a deer.
Just looking out of kitchen window we saw squirrels, a fox and rabbits and a badger amiably along.
Plenty to see and do in South Cornwall if you take the time to explore.
The owners are kind and thoughtful.
The cottage lacks for nothing and is spacious.
I would highly recommend Sherwell Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie H
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect - Home from Home”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thouroughly enjoyed our stay at this really lovely cottage with our dog Thomas. Peter & Tracey made us very welcome with scones/jam/cream and wine left for us in the cottage on arrival, from day 1 it really felt like home for the next two weeks The cottage was well equiped especially in the kitchen, we wanted for nothing during our stay. The grounds were wonderful for taking our dog his daily walks and loved Ziggy & Lunar the owners dogs tagging along with us, they are so friendly and funny. Peter & Tracey were great and didn't feel their presence was intrusive in any way even though they lived next door.
The cottage is situated in a fantastic place, great for exploring all of Cornwall with Lands End only 1& 1/2 hrs away and also Devon in the opposite direction.
We would highly recommend this cottage and will definitely be back to stay here as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful garden
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CherryBea...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful stay”
Reviewed November 20, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The cottage was great - very spacious and really well equipped. The weather was pretty terrible, but it made the cottage all the more cosy. It's well located to explore both the north and south coastline, with plenty to do within a short drive.
Tracey & Peter were really respectful of my nervousness with their dog and ensured we felt very welcome, buying a travel cot especially in time for our stay.
Would definitely come back for another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2015
Please note. We have a young Vizsla dog/puppy (small Hungarian pointer type). Our guest had a fear of ALL dogs. Ziggy is very friendly and was "adopted" by previous guests, so on arrival ran over to greet. We are very careful not to let her impose where not welcome. We also welcome visitors with their own dogs. Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gecpw
Thornaby - on - Tees
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at this place in September 2014 and had a wonderful time. The hosts Tracey and Peter (and Ziggy the dog) really looked after us and the little personal touches of the cream teas and local beer are a welcome idea. Situated in a central position in Cornwall you have ready access to most of the main places to see such as Padstow, Looe, Tavistock and Launceston. The cottage itself is absolutely lovely and we could have lived there - I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing