We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Curates Egg”
Review of Carpenters Arms

Carpenters Arms
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Callington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A charming 15th century pub located in the picturesque village of Metherell, in the middle of the stunning Tamar Valley, an area of outstanding natural beauty in Cornwall. Just 10 minutes drive from the historic, beautifully preserved, Tudor Cotehele House. . The Carpenters Arms is, in fact, named after the carpenters who built Cotehele House in the 15th Century. This timeless, family friendly and welcoming pub is full of character and atmosphere. Roaring fires lit throughout winter. The public bar is flagged with slate and heavy black beams are held in place by massive exposed stone walls, in contrast to the larger lounge which also functions as a dining area. Three rotating, beautifully kept, real ales. The regular being Sharp's Doombar, and we alternate between microbreweries and larger national breweries like Timothy Taylor, St Austell, Otter to name a few, on the other pumps. We serve delicious food, fresh, prepared to order on our premises by our chef. Monday night is pizza night: traditional stone baked pizzas. We prepare our dough, fresh on the day. Excellent Sunday Roast. Meat is locally sourced. We alternate the roast every Sunday. Great live music gigs with truly talented musicians/bands entertain us all, every month. We cater for all occasions. In fact, our restaurant is available for private hire. We liaise with the local busy community. As a result of this, we hold the ever so popular "Brunch and Local Produce Market" on the 1st Saturday of the month (from March to December), together with Tamar Valley Food Hubs, a local Farmers' Market. We also host seasonal holidays parties for the local Playgroup and School, to raise funds for them. Events which are open to everybody. Free wireless. Outdoor seating is on the sun-trap terrace. Food is served: Mon: 5pm till 9pm (Pizza Night) Tue to Thu: 6pm till 9pm Fri and Sat: Noon till 2pm / 6pm till 9pm Sunday: Noon till 2:30pm / 6pm till 8:30pm
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Six of us dined here and 3 were delighted with their meal and 3 were disappointed. The medalians of Pork and the Monkfish were superb. The steaks were of excellent quality and size but were somewhat salty. What we couldn't understand that the steak meals came with real chips, and other meals came with McDonald type fries. The scampi served was of poor quality and in a miserly portion, and all for £9.00.
After dining we checked the menu board and found that all the meals should have come with real chips. We were told at the bar we should have said something, but we wasn't to know, what came with what until after the meal. We were offered free drinks on our next visit. What made it disappointing for us was we know how good this place is, and on the night did not come up to our expectations. The service at the bar and the table was excellent

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank YorkiesinDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMBELL77, Manager at Carpenters Arms, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write about your experience here with us.
We are pleased you enjoyed your meal here or some of you did. However it comes as a big surprise to read your review as it does not match the comments you gave us just before you left the premises. The waitress checked if everything was all right with your meals while you were still sat at the table eating and your reply or certainly the person who answered said: “Lovely. Thank you”. No other comments were made! If certain meals did not meet your expectations we are very sorry about that, however it would been much appreciated if you would have mentioned that at that time so we could have offered a replacement instead of reading about it on Tripadvisor! The lady at the bar also asked if everything was all right and it was only just before you were leaving that you said you weren’t very happy with the scampi. There was NO mention about anything else! I am sorry if there was any confusion on what type of chips or French fries accompanied the meals.
We do take pride on our customers service skills, you yourself have said in your review the bar and restaurant service was excellent, so we would have done everything possible to meet your expectations should we have been made aware of the problems some of your fellow diners had. In fact the chef did not think anything was wrong as the plates came back empty which is usually a good sign.
So please next time you do go to other establishments, specially a small family run business such as ourselves, and something is not right, according to your standards, please do mention something on the evening. I am sure it will be much appreciated.

Thank you very much
Sib and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 144 of 169 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was in 2 minds about writing a review on this gem as being selfish,I want to be able to get in the place!.The food can only be described as excellent and very reasonably priced.The steak offer is worth every penny and should be tried.In the week we were in Cornwall we ate out every night and visited here on three occasions for food and nearly every night for a drink.Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peter1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

came for the pizzas on a monday night on the recommendation of the owners of the holiday cottage we were staying at & were not disappointed. The pub is a bit dark & it was quiet but the pizzas (and beer) WERE TOP NOTCH. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alex w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We found this pub whilst on a weeks holiday-loved it so much we ended up eating there 3 times in the week.

Food was brilliant. Steak night a must - two for £20 plus a bottle of wine = bargain!

Pizza night on Friday - another must if you love homemade pizza.

Extra touches like homemade breads, a salad bowl on pizza night, homemade garlic bread for kids on request.

Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Accommodated our party of 10 which included four young children perfectly.

To sum up brilliant food, great service, good value for money!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank raisonsplitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Excellent meal, first class service with friendly staff, can recommend, we liked everything about this pub.

1  Thank tavistock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpenters Arms also viewed

 

Been to Carpenters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing