We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pleasant and quiet”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Solid oak table in Gulliver kitchen / diner seats up to 20 when fully extended
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Solid oak table in Gulliver kitchen / diner seats up to 20 when fully extended
Owls Roost cottage (sleeps 2-4)
Well stocked fishing lakes
Out door pool (summer only)
Wonderfull views
Plenty of action for children
Lakeside cottage's kitchen
Conservatory at Gulliver cottage
China Fleet's top notch gym
Great indoor pool at China Fleet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Callington, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steven H
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant and quiet”
Reviewed October 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Both myself and my partner stayed here September 2016. We spent a week in Owls Roost which is a 2-4 bed cottage. We found the grounds and property to be of a relatively decent standard. There is a pond that was popular with the fishermen, and the grounds are of adequate size. The on site games room is what you would expect and slightly better maintained than other farmhouses we have visited in Cornwall. A few minor niggles with the cottage - bathroom door doesn't close properly and slight gap in the front door that that prevents it from closing fully. That said the property was of a decent standard. Wifi was patchy despite the on site boosters. The location is quiet but easily accessible. Local town was fairly run down. The addition of China fleet club made this cottage worth the stay as the facilities are amazing. Worth a visit if you want a quiet and peaceful picturesque location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H
Dunstable
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVED THE FISHING SO CLOSE TO THE LAKE”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our first fishing holiday for 5 years as my husband has a lung condition and we cannot carry the equipment needed for fishing very far. This is just perfect because the lake is no more than a few steps and we could keep the equipment tackled up and ready to go each morning. It was a warm week luckily, but if the weather had been colder it was comforting to know that we could get inside quickly to warm up if needed. The air quality is wonderful and my husband said he felt better because of it. We stayed in Lakeside Cottage which was perfect. It has a balcony and we sat there on a number of evenings looking over the lake and watching the sun go down and the stars come out. Big thank you to Frances and Neville for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location so close to the lake. Great air quality.
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley77
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent a week here with family and loved the place. The gardens and lake are beautiful and the kids loved going to feed the donkeys every day. The small games room is adequate and somewhere to go for a game of table tennis after dinner. The pool is tiny but we made use of the health club passes and enjoyed the flume and spacious swimming pool there. Plenty to do in surrounding areas within an hour from the cottages. The cottage kitchen had everything we needed and we even had a BBQ one evening. The only down side, as mentioned in other reviews, was the extremely soft mattresses - by the end of the week I found it impossible to get comfortable and resorted to sleeping on the sofa. With new mattresses this would score a 5 in my book!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pandscroa...
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality in Cornwall”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed here with the family (8 in total) for a week, cottage was spacious & exceptionally clean. Paid extra for the hot tub & have got to say it was well worth the money. Location was good with Plymouth & many other places within easy reach. Rooms very spacious & comfortable
Left alone by the hosts to enjoy our holiday but they were always on hand if we needed anything & nothing was a problem. Bedrooms, bathrooms & lounge very comfortable & spacious, kitchen was amazing with the amount of equipment.
Parking was for 3/4 cars for our cottage alone which was great, surrounding grounds were great with the fish & the Donkeys which my Grandson took great joy in feeding every day.
To sum up I would highly recommend this location & all credit to the owners

Only down side was the weather for the time of year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet of the location
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clairebea...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place.”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself, partner and our 2 children stayed at Trehill cottages for a week from the 27th June. Arrived slightly earlier than expected and we were allowed in our cottage early. We stayed in lilliput cottage which was so lovely. Ample room for all of us and was spotlessly clean. The grounds are beautifully kept and my partner loved the fishing lake, our children were very taken with the 2 lovely donkeys and play area. Thank you Neville and France's, our family holiday was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DursleyMu...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, lovely surroundings. Perfect getaway.”
Reviewed June 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My friends booked this for my birthday weekend and what a find. It was a beautiful place to stay and Neville was very helpful, thank you. Peaceful and tranquil with two lovely donkeys. The China Fleet passes were a big bonus and we spent a lovely day there. Already booked to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and general surroundings
Liked least: No full length mirror
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimthefis...
oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect half term holiday”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at lakeside cottage for a brilliant half term holiday. The cottage was perfect in every way bar one - it needs a cheese grater! That's the only critical thing I can say! Our kids loved fishing (dad had fun with that too!). They also made loads of friends with the neighbours - pretty much everyone there had school aged kids which isn't surprising given it was half term. They all made lots of use of the playground, and a couple of dips were made in the outdoors pool. We were really lucky with the weather too, and visited several lovely beaches, all 20 or 30 minutes away. Never had a problem with parking at any of them. Whitsand bay is lovely, but watch out for high tide.

The owners were wonderful, very attentive on arrival but unobtrusive following that - which is just how I like it.

Overall, Trehill is a wonderful place to come for a holiday - and we're already considering a return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Fishing
Liked least: No cheese grater
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing