We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful house and an interesting experience”
Review of UpDown Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
UpDown Cottage
Ranked #3 of 11 Callington B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Beautiful house and rooms; well designed. I fell in love with the 'rain forest' shower. The breakfast menu was full of very interesting surprises and I would recommend trying as many options as possible if you are there for a few days. The porridge was amazing; I generally don't like it but got converted :).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacapuce69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 60 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

The title almost says it all. Peter and Caroline are an enthusiastic, well travelled couple who really enjoy looking after you . Breakfasts are the highlight of the day and you are encouraged to try variations of their extensive menues (including some you have probably not tried before. For example, have you ever had creme brulee porrage or orange and ginger porrage)
The bedroom are well furnished and very quiet. Peter and Caroline are happy to make tea or coffee for you at any time and we particularly appreciated having tea and biscuits when returning in the afternoon and a coffee in the evening.
Not the easiest of places to find, but a combination of Caroline's instructions and your Satnav will get you there.
In conclusion, probably on of the best B & B s we have ever stayed at and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vincentiuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have stayed here & at their previous B&B next door both for a week at a time. We doubt you'll find better; in fact the 1st time we stayed with Peter & Caroline there was a large group of us staying at various B&B's in the area & this one was (and still is) the best by a long mile; the others wished they stayed with us. Breakfast are to die for with a wonderful choice & their American pancakes are the best we have tasted; both here & in USA! Rooms are spotless & beautifully decorated, all en-suite.
To give some background to our comment. I have been involved with running both large hotels and Guest houses for many years; so I expect Cleanliness, Hospitality, quality food all at the right price. Updown Cottage is different; you get all that but at a price far lower than the service you receive, Bargain! You'll find your hosts soon become friends. It's such a lovely place don't forget to pack your slippers! We will be returning to stay here. Phil & Louise.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Lou_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Very comfortable room, great breakfast, very friendly reception by both Peter and Caroline. Well worth a visit and stay 2 nights to enjoy a delicious home made Cream Tea. Cottage is modern and spotlessly clean, with great attention to the smallest detail.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel-J_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at the cottage for one night and were delighted with everything. Our room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean, and lots of attention to detail. Caroline and Peter made us very welcome and were wonderful hosts. Our breakfast was simply fabulous. I would highly recommend Updown Cottage as one of the best bed and breakfast stays we have ever stayed in.... try it for yourself!

Room Tip: There are three rooms and they are all equally nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We couldn't recommend UpDown Cottage highly enough. Caroline and Peter were fantastic hosts, we were made to feel so welcome from the minute we arrived. The cottage itself is delightful, beautifully decorated with a very crisp & modern yet classic cottage look- lots of wooden beams etc. It was just lovely, everything about it- the rooms were excellent, we were treated fabulously- and the food was to die for! You simply must try their speciality cream tea!! I will definitely be coming back here with my girlfriend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Following a recent car accident in Cornwall, my husband and I were left stranded at Callington. Following serveral phone calls from the recovery vehicle company, Updown were able to accommodate us. It was now dark when we arrived and were greeted by the lovely Caroline in the lane with a flash torch. She walked us down to the cottage and introduced us to her husband Pete. What a warm welcome awaited us! Hot drinks, biscuits , soup and freshly toasted bread. and the very kind offer of the use of their telephone to make any necessary calls, together with the use of their internet if required.The room we had was superb, spotlessly clean, and extremely well appointed - we even enjoyed homemade chocolates which were left on our neatly turned back bed when we retired for the night. Breakfast was fantastic and served in the lovely open plan dining/lounge/kitchen area of cottage, where you could share in friendly conversation with the hosts whilst the food was being prepared. Our stay was first class and the hospitality did not end there, as Caroline very kindly drove us back to the recovery vehicle centre for our return trip home. 10 out of 10 for us and a huge big thankyou for our wonderful hosts. This is definitely one not to to missed!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefrenchduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callington hotels
3.6 mi away
Cadson Manor
Cadson Manor
#1 of 11 in Callington
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polhilsa Farm
Polhilsa Farm
#6 of 11 in Callington
34 reviews
4.5 mi away
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 11 in Callington
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Compton Park Caravan & Camping
Show Prices

Been to UpDown Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UpDown Cottage

Address: Lower Downgate, Callington PL17 8LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Callington
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to UpDown Cottage, Lower Downgate in Cornwall, a quiet, homely Bed and Breakfast. Our breakfast menu is full of dishes to tempt you. If you prefer to a no-smoking environment, no children or pets, friendly service, great food and welcoming hosts, you will be very welcome. Whatever your reason to come to the Tamar Valley we are here to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as we can. We enjoy being your hosts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
UpDown Cottage Callington, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing