We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful”
Review of UpDown Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
UpDown Cottage
Ranked #3 of 11 Callington B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We couldn't recommend UpDown Cottage highly enough. Caroline and Peter were fantastic hosts, we were made to feel so welcome from the minute we arrived. The cottage itself is delightful, beautifully decorated with a very crisp & modern yet classic cottage look- lots of wooden beams etc. It was just lovely, everything about it- the rooms were excellent, we were treated fabulously- and the food was to die for! You simply must try their speciality cream tea!! I will definitely be coming back here with my girlfriend for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 60 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

Following a recent car accident in Cornwall, my husband and I were left stranded at Callington. Following serveral phone calls from the recovery vehicle company, Updown were able to accommodate us. It was now dark when we arrived and were greeted by the lovely Caroline in the lane with a flash torch. She walked us down to the cottage and introduced us to her husband Pete. What a warm welcome awaited us! Hot drinks, biscuits , soup and freshly toasted bread. and the very kind offer of the use of their telephone to make any necessary calls, together with the use of their internet if required.The room we had was superb, spotlessly clean, and extremely well appointed - we even enjoyed homemade chocolates which were left on our neatly turned back bed when we retired for the night. Breakfast was fantastic and served in the lovely open plan dining/lounge/kitchen area of cottage, where you could share in friendly conversation with the hosts whilst the food was being prepared. Our stay was first class and the hospitality did not end there, as Caroline very kindly drove us back to the recovery vehicle centre for our return trip home. 10 out of 10 for us and a huge big thankyou for our wonderful hosts. This is definitely one not to to missed!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thefrenchduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fabulous cottage, stunning breakfasts and great hosts in Peter and Caroline. We were looked after exceptionally well and really appreciated the cream tea on arrival after a long tiring but great ride down to Cornwall. Beautifully well appointed rooms. M & J

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me and my boyriend stayed 10 days in August 2012 in this lovely cottage, quiet location and perfect to travel from north to south Corwall.
As soon as we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Caroline and Peter (the owners) that are really a lovely couple. We stayed in room no. 2 that was big, confortable and extreamly clean and the bathroom also. We had a wonderful time here, the Breakfast was absolutely very satisfying and over any expectacion, with many different choices on the menu and all yummy! Professionality in everything Caroline and Peter do, its there job and they do it superbly! I really advise you to go and stay there! I travelled a lot in my life and never found such nice BB!! Will go there again next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We (my wife and I) stayed here for 4 nights this August. We were welcomed by Caroline and Peter with cream tea and we loved the cosiness of the cottage and the hospitality of the owners. Our room (room 3) was quite spacious and had a small sitting area and the room was practical, nice and large (enough). Breakfast was a feast every morning! Also the other guests were very friendly and we had a lot of laughs with them. I hope Keith will still remember some of the jokes, because his age is playing him parts. ;-) We could advise UpDown Cottage to everyone!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Our first time with Caroline & Peter and how I wish we'd found them before! Our two nights were just lovely, as were our hosts, and I can't wait to spend more time there in the future. They manage to turn breakfast (not normally the most exciting meal of the day) into a gastronomic experience that is not to be missed! The Brulee Porridge is to die for and the calm, elegant ambience of the house makes one feel at home as soon as you step over the threshold. With a comfy, cosy bed and a shiny, spotlessly clean bathroom - I wouldn't leave my own home for anything less! Definitely the best B & B in the West!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Felt at home as soon as i arrived, real cosy feel to the cottage. Lovely hosts nothing was too much for them! I was given a whole list of options for breakfast, which was delicious! A lovely quiet location and really comfy bedroom.
I am now trying to think of excuses to visit the area simply to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callington hotels
3.6 mi away
Cadson Manor
Cadson Manor
#1 of 11 in Callington
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polhilsa Farm
Polhilsa Farm
#6 of 11 in Callington
34 reviews
4.5 mi away
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 11 in Callington
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Compton Park Caravan & Camping
Show Prices

Been to UpDown Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UpDown Cottage

Address: Lower Downgate, Callington PL17 8LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Callington
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to UpDown Cottage, Lower Downgate in Cornwall, a quiet, homely Bed and Breakfast. Our breakfast menu is full of dishes to tempt you. If you prefer to a no-smoking environment, no children or pets, friendly service, great food and welcoming hosts, you will be very welcome. Whatever your reason to come to the Tamar Valley we are here to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as we can. We enjoy being your hosts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
UpDown Cottage Callington, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing