We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice amenities but accommodation a let down”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Barn Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Long Barn Cottages
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice amenities but accommodation a let down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Myself and family stayed recently at Beech Cottage for one week. There was lots to do on site, which was especially handy due to some poor weather. There was a nice indoor pool and jacuzzi. There was a shallow outdoor pool which was really pleasant to use. The games room had table football and table tennis. And there was a small gym which was really handy. The grounds were kept beautiful and my husband had a great time fishing in the lake. Nice place to have a BBQ as well.
But for me my only real let down was the accommodation. Whilst it had all the necessary day to day items and nice bathroom (although was smelling a bit damp). Also had DVD player with well stocked selection of DVDs, I was really dissapointed with the living accommodation. It had very uncomfortable sofas and an extremely small TV. Now whilst I appreciate that TV was not high on our agenda, due to some days of bad weather we went back to the cottage to have a chill. This though was not a pleasant experience due to the hard sofas and as mentioned, really small TV. What made it more of a bug bare was that Ash Cottage next door had comfy sofas and large TV. Sorry just to mention as well, but the cusions on the sofas were soiled and thin.
So apart from this, I would recommend Trehill if the above was addressed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Goosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We spent 3 days, 2 nights in Beech Cottage, the cottage is finished to a high standard. Having access to the pool and hot tub was a winner for the kids. Our daughter didn't like the games room, she said it was way scarey? We took trips into Looe, and Portwrinkle and Downderry, where my wife lost her phone only to receive a call 1 hour later from the local family that had picked it up off the beach, thank you very much !! If we could ask for two improvements the telly is tiny, we had to fiddle with the water thingy to get hot water, nevertheless we had a great stay and would recommend Trehill Cottages to our friends, and hope to return again perhaps for the big house by the lake. Almost forgot to mention the donkey, what a character.

Room Tip: The cottage has great views front and back, for a bigger group the house by the lake looks fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevilletoptani, Owner at Long Barn Cottages, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and also for pointing out a couple of areas that could be improved. We have now completely renovated the games room so that it should not appear in any way scary! We have also installed a larger flat screen TV to go with the home cinema system. Sam, our character of a donkey has now been joined by a new friend "Snowy" to keep him company! We thank you for staying with us & appreciate your helpful comments.
Neville Toptani - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed in Owls Roost which was a lovely cottage, fully equipped in nice surroundings. The site was really nice but the biggest problem we had was with neighbours who were heavy smokers. Their garden seating area is right outside Owls Roost's lounge so apart from feeling you were in a goldfish bowl (no net curtains), it was impossible to open the windows due to the smell of cigarettes. This would not have been a problem had we been smokers ourselves but if not you take pot luck as to who your neighbours are. You do get free membership to China Fleet which has excellent sports facilities approx 20 mins. drive away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSidebotham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevilletoptani, Owner at Long Barn Cottages, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the accommodation. We are sorry that you were disturbed by your neighbours smoking. We understand how this might affect you enjoyment of the property & its surroundings. We appreciate your comments and this has helped us to ensure that this will not be repeated. We have now instigated a no smoking policy in that area, & have installed net curtains to hopefully eliminate the weaknesses that you have identified. Once again, thanks for staying with us & sharing your experiences.
Neville Toptani - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

Arrival

Tucked along a quiet country lane you will find Trehill Cottages. You turn into a drive that is open and spacious with plenty of parking. Here you find the owners accommodation. The owners are very welcoming and we were shown to our property and given a quick tour of our cottage (Ash on this occasion) and a brief explanation of all the facilities on site.

Facilities

The cottage had a fully equipped kitchen including a full size fridge freezer, washing machine (drying room situated at end of cottages, coin operated)dishwasher and cutlery & china suitable for both indoor and outdoor use as the cottage has a large wooden deck area with bench, table & chairs and a BBQ. The cottage also had two well appointed bedrooms, one double and one twin, both on suite. The double room has a walk in shower whilst the twin had a shower over bath. The main area of the cottage is open plan including the kitchen, dinning area, and living area. The living area has two comfortable 2 seater leather sofas, TV, DVD player with a large selection of DVD’s and a few reading books. A folder is also left with some points of interest, restaurants, beaches and local amenities. We were also ab;e to pick up the free wireless internet access from this cottage to. You will also find a small information centre with internet access and info on site if needed.

The children will find plenty to do with 2 play areas, one filled with playhouse, slide etc for the young children and another fitted with a large wood climbing frame for the older children. There is also a trampoline and outside swimming pool (both we did not go to see). The donkeys are very friendly. Two on our stay who we affectionately named Bill & Ben. They love to be fed especially as requested by the owner’s apples & carrots. Finally there is a games room complete with air hockey, a couple of arcade machines (additional cost 50p per game) and table tennis.

Finally the large lake provides a tranquil setting as well as the opportunity to fish till your hearts content if that’s your thing. However you may have to fight the local heron that seemed to perch on the little platform in the middle of the pond every morning.

Your accommodation also comes with membership to the China Fleet Country Club. This is approx 14 miles from the cottages near to Saltash.

Overall impression

The area is stunning. The view from the cottages (farm land as far as the eyes can see) and the grounds in which the cottages sit are peaceful and relaxing. The cottages are furnished to a high standard and the beds I found extremely comfortable. I did find though that there are some areas of wear & tear that could do with a little attention, for example broken loo roll holder, but nothing to major. The cottage was very clean and all the bed linen and towels fresh.

Worth mentioning

Over the first weekend the cottages were quite busy. Having booked Ash cottage, we did find the flow of people back and forth to the other cottages in the row a little invasive and had to close the curtains for some privacy. Also the drying room is attached to Ash Cottage and there is a small amount of noise when it’s in use and can be heard in the main double bedroom (not sure if there is a time for use of this facility) last but not least, it might be worth taking some slippers for the colder months as all the floors are wooden throughout.

Nearly forgot to mention, if you are planning to travel into Devon or to Plymouth from the cottage regularly there is a toll for using the Tamar Bridge, currently £1.50 for a car. This toll is only payable one way heading towards Plymouth.

I have also just been reminded by my wife, that she would have liked a full length mirror somewhere in the cottage. All the mirrors are wall mirrors.

Finally

I would most definitely stay here again if choosing to holiday in this location as it gave good access to both Devon & Cornwall. The owners are friendly and the site and cottages are well equipped with everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danthebiscuitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

We had 4 adults in our group and really enjoyed our stay in Ash Cottage. It was well appointed and in a lovely quiet location.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliPatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevilletoptani, Owner at Long Barn Cottages, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here & apologise for the delay in responding. Just a quick note to say that the drying room has now been moved & there should be no further noise to disturb anyone staying in Ash cottage. Neville Toptani - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

We spent a long weekend at the beginning of May at Trehill Cottages, and it was wonderful. We stayed in Ash,Cottage, which seemed very new and modern with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, tv, dvd player, dvds to watch, washing machine, dishwasher, comfortable beds and the best of all - a deck outside with a barbeque where we spent time just gazing at the beautiful surrounding countryside.

My 2 girls (aged 7 and 3) enjoyed playing outside - they have 2 play areas (one for little ones and the other for older kids), a trampoline, 3 donkeys to feed, a lake as well as a games room with table tennis, table football etc. They also have an outdoor heated pool which would be great in summer. They also provide membership to the China Fleet Country Club which we used once - the indoor pool is lovely with a great slide for older children. My husband enjoyed the gym.

The owners were very helpful though unobtrusive. We explored Cornwall every day but in retrospect wish we spent more time just relaxing.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibellasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Callington hotels
1.3 mi away
Cadson Manor
Cadson Manor
#1 of 11 in Callington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Polhilsa Farm
Polhilsa Farm
#6 of 11 in Callington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
Woodpeckers Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 11 in Callington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Compton Park Caravan & Camping
0.1 mi away
The Chantry Guest House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Barn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Barn Cottages

Property: Long Barn Cottages
Address: Liskeard Road, Callington PL17 7HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Callington
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trehill cottages is a select group of 7 cottages sleeping from 2-12 people. Set in 4 acres of grounds, there is an outdoor pool, games room, children's play area, wifi & either membership of a private health club or access to indoor pool & gym on-site. This depends on which cottage you choose.All cottages are furnished to a high standard & most have lake views. There is free on-site fishing for all guests.This is a privately owned holiday cottage development and as owners living on-site we are there to ensure that guests have a great stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Long Barn Cottages Callington, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing