We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Callington
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Horn Of Plenty(Gulworthy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Duke of Tavistock(Tavistock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Endsleigh(Milton Abbot)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crooked Inn(Saltash)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
61
63
30
17
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
63
30
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonicombe manorvalley lodgeon sitegames roomnew ownersbar and restaurantmanor bartennis courtsfamily holidaydonkey parksunday lunchpool partyupstairs balconyout of seasonminute drivemiles down the roadquick service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 198 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Me and my husband came to honicoombe manor as a last minute break away. We just wanted some where to relax this is
The place for that. We had a st clear lodge with a hot tub and it was great. The lodge is very big and had three spacious bedrooms. We immediately felt comfy and at home here. Honicoombe is nestled in woodland and is so serene and beautiful. This is perfect if you want peace and quiet. We came off season really so really enjoyed having the park pretty much to ourselves. The hot tub is highly recommended. We visited the bar/restaurant a few nights it looks like your usual pub and maybe could do with a revamp. Saying that the gentleman who ran the bar was just brilliant. He was very friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for you a real asset to the manor. The food was reasonably priced and we was suprised at how delicious it was. Perfectly cooked steak so definitely try that. The park was obviously in stages of renovation they was working on the outdoor pool. They clearly have alot of work to still do here but its nothing to put you off staying its just one of those things. Overall this maybe isnt a place for families with small children as its quiet and most things are a drive away. Its situated at the start of cornwall and we had lovely adventures and drives out. The surrounding area is just stunning and Tavistock is close by which is a lovely little town. We even drove to Newquay and dawlish warren roughly an hour away. If you are happy to drive lots of places to see. We had a great holiday and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cac1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Honicombe. It is, as you so rightly say, a place for a quiet relaxing holiday with plenty of places to visit in the surrounding area. It was good to hear too that you were well looked after by our staff and enjoyed the bar and restaurant facilities. We do hope that we can welcome you back here some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not surprisingly we are in lengthly discussions with Hoseasons with regard to the shambles of a holiday we had last month.

"I grabbed a bargain" I thought!

"I should have listened to the reviews on the internet and not thought 'they are under new management and have undergone great renovations' as they kept saying" is what I said when I got home.

In short £733 is not good value for money if you didn't enjoy your stay due to constant issues, run-down facilities and damp accommodation.

I've posted pictures of the problems in the chalet, which I must say that on arrival looked quite nice until I realised that it was a cover-up.

Leaking roof that was clearly an ongoing issue and looking at the ceiling had happened many times before. Roof leak fixed, dampness was beyond "putting the heating on to dry it out". HSS probably hire out industrial dehumidifiers, that might do the job.

Facilities are very run down - the (male) changing rooms at the pool are damp, smelling and unsanitary. The pool is cloudy in colour as it has so much chlorine in and is surrounded by carpet creating the most unpleasant damp aroma. The male lifeguard listens to his iPod whilst on duty but is helpful if someone slips up (don't expect a report in the accident book though!).

Our bungalow developed a leak and we had damp issues. The beds were damp and carpet damp. Our shower/bath was rarely hot so as a family of 6 we resorted to cold baths or showers. This was reported but no fix.

I've since read reviews that say "you get what you pay for" which really makes no sense. I paid for a holiday in Cornwall, I didn't pay for a week of stress that almost resorted in coming home, but I would not put my kids through that trauma!

"Under new ownership" is not a valid excuse, the "new ownership" should open it up as and when it's up to standard and Hoseasons should be thoroughly ashamed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JonfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We are very sorry to hear that your holiday at Honicombe did not live up to your expectations. The chalet conditions you describe are certainly not what we expect our hoilday makers to experience. We have endeavoured since we took over the site to make sure every lodge and chalet is of a high standard.. We will certainly be looking into what the problem was on this occasion. The upgrade of the site facilities is ongoing but we will take on board your complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have had a great weekend and we rented out 3 lodges for family and friends and they were lovely and with great views nothing bad to fault at all ! (NO 35, 6 and 40- something) .... We had rented out the Barrons room out for our evening wedding reception entertainment ( Band and disco ) The hall made it sound great !- the hall is amazing and can be made to look very grand ( holds up to 150 people in hall alone )... it has wooden beams and a massive fire place and a conservatory attached to hall and we had our own Hog roast outside. Honicombe had provided the buffet for us and it was lovely! Many locals say they didn't even realize that it was there,( were from Landrake/ saltash with a coach and wedding cars to get our party guests to and back ) it has lots of potential ... we realize on trip advisor that people are too quick to be negative and forget to write about the good things so thats a shame.... Honicombe is defiantly a good place to hold a birthday party, wedding reception or something along these lines .. Thank you X Pic's to follow.......

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen198131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We are so very pleased to hear that your wedding weekend was such a great success. As you say, Honicombe is an ideal place for such an occasion. Thank you for your positive feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a lovely weekend in Lodge 52. Clean and bright and beautifully furnished, complete with hot tub we walked the Moors by day and relaxed in the hot tub with a liquid refreshement inder the stars. We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and presentation of the lodge and the rustic green views from the windows. The lodge had a very good kitchen for self-catering, and smart, modern family and en-suite bathrooms. One night we stayed was quite chilly, and we were very glad of the central heating which made the whole lodge comfortable in minutes. The lodge was more private than many and the site as a whole has a charm not often found on holiday sites such as this. The staff were friendly and helpful, the pool balmy and warm, a joy to swim in, and the meals 2 for £10 a tasty bargain. All in all, we had a very successful stay and will return - there is so much more to see and do in the area, including some prime National Trust sites and of course, the Eden Project. We would highly recommend this lodge as representing very good value for money, lots of comfort and a prime position on the border of two beautiful counties.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheOmerGiramondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your stay at Honicombe Manor and we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed all the site facilities and for your positive feedback. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to Honicombe some time in the future when you will be able to explore that this region has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Yes the site is a little shabby yes it is in the middle of nowhere yes there is no shop on site yes the place you booked probably wont be the place you will stay in, yes alot of reports you will read will be average to poor BUT try getting the same anywhere else for the same or less money.
We went straight to the reception and put our views forward and we managed to negotiate a little sweetener for our last meal in the bar restaurant (which i might say was very good value)
We used this as a base for travelling around to different places in cornwall.
Overall i would say 6/7 out of ten. YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andyphilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Honicombe. We are glad to hear you were able to explore the beautiful surrounding area. We are also pleased to hear that our friendly staff listened to your concerns. We are making great strides to achieve not only the look of the site but the facilities as well and we hope you will come back again in the future to appreciate what we have achieved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews