We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously, don't bother!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Callington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort
Reviewed September 14, 2013

On our arrival to Honicombe Manor we were late so was informed by another member of the public who was staying at the resort that you had to collect the key from the bar as the Reception shut at 5pm (which I knew anyway). The whole site looked shabby. This was not a good start to our weeks stay at the resort. I had been driving for 5 hours all the way from west sussex. Had to wait 15 mins to be served as all the bar staff were too busy serving guests from a wedding reception which was going on in the Barron Room which we weren't told about until we opened our information pack and were given the keys. The entertainment didn't goto as nothing was suitable for children. The outside pool couldn't be used it looked like a builders site!! The inside pool/sauna, gym and the hot tub were the only decent facilities we could use. The kids play park could of been bigger. We stayed in St.Martin House no.16. The fence around the decking/hot tub area was broken and a large nail was sticking out. The front door wouldn't open did report to the bar after arrival was told someone would take a look nobody turned up!! No proper bolt on gate my 2 year old son and 4 year old daughter could open it!! The tiles on the kitchen floor were cracked!! A dreadful holiday. Will be writing to Hoseasons as I think it's a lot of money for a week and the holiday was dreadful!! Won't be returning and won't recommend!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Honicombe. We’re sorry to hear that the holiday didn’t meet your expectations. We do offer late check in at the bar as you mentioned but it’s unfortunate that we were busy that evening and you experienced a short wait.

We have been making lots of improvements to the site since we took over just under a year ago and part of that improvement work is the upgrade to the facilities that you witnessed. We’re sorry that this impacted on your stay and hope that you will find the facilities much improved after the work has been completed. In the meantime, we’re pleased to hear that you made the most of the indoor pool, sauna, gym and the hot tub at your lodge. We will check that the issues you raised regarding the door lock and broken tiles have already been addressed.

The Honicombe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 189 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

Perfect spot for the Tamar Valley. We stayed in very spacious lodge (Tamar) with wonderful views from the balcony. It is a self-catering lodge,and we self-catered! (Excellent meals - served on time...) Indoor poor is one of the best we have found in such sites. Staff were friendly and helpful, and anxious to reassure us that the place is on the up - with a new management structure.

Room Tip: Better views with lodges on the south or east side of the site - away from the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thanks for your review of your holiday at Honicombe. We are really pleased to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed the accommodation and the facilities such as the pool. We will make sure the staff receive your positive feedback and we are really pleased to hear they could help to make your holiday a great one.

We hope to see you again soon

The Honicombe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a last minute booking through Hoeseasons so wasn't expecting the earth. Although cost enough! We stayed in Lodge 36, which we couldn't fault, it had been refurbished and it was lovely, great kitchen, comfy beds (although a little soft for me) and fantastic balcony. But, that's where it ends. We were very lucky with our weather, it was fantastic but, we were only able to use our balcony once or twice because of the wasps as the bins weren't emptied the whole time we were there and it was over flowing. The outdoor pool is as big as a postage stamp and was permanently closed even in the hot sunshine. The indoor pool is a good size very clean and tidy but had far to much clorene in and was far to hot it was like sharing a big bath, the changing rooms are clean but far to small.

I visited with my husband and four children and was advised on arrival by very helpful receptionist that we should book if we wanted to eat at the pub/restaurant which we did and our meal was quite nice although we waited a very long time for it to arrive. On our second visit we were told that the wait for food was at least an hour and a half even though there were few people sitting at tables and eventually guests that had just arrived that day were turned away! When we eventually got our food it was quite nice although my steak was very fatty and my sons chicken nuggets were very overdone. The bar ran out of coke and lemonade so a member of staff had to go off on his scooter and get some, he came back with 2 bottles of each which lasted 2 minutes. They are very under staffed but you could not fault the staff that are there they are very helpful and apologetic. Don't rely on the entertainment, it's a joke, a man turning balls in a basket to a room with no more that 6 tables was hysterical! The main problems I have with this site other than being run down is the fact that there is no shop, I have visited many holiday sites over the years and have never stayed anywhere that doesn't have a shop, just for a paper or a loaf of bread or pint of milk, the nearest shop is a 10 minute drive away which is ridiculous! My last point is, this site is in the middle of nowhere, there is nothing close enough to walk to, the nearest beach is 40 minutes away by car which is Whitsand Bay ( which is well worth a visit). The bar staff told us that Bude was the closest beach and said it was about 40 minutes away, rubbish!! It took us an hour and 20 minutes to get there, (again worth it though). I understand that it is going through a major refurbished but, employing more staff and making space for a shop is easily rectified. We were very lucky with our weather so spent the week exploring beautiful Cornwall and we found a great pub a mike down the the road which served great food The Crossbows Inn. Do not rely on the site to keep you occupied, It won't!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjfrost34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Honicombe. It’s great to hear that you got out and about and explored Cornwall. We appreciate that the location is rural but we think that’s a great bonus because of the beautiful Tamar Valley we are situated in giving lots of opportunities, for walks, cycling and visiting the picturesque villages nearby. We really hope to encourage people to make the most of the beautiful countryside surrounding the site.
We’re glad to hear that you found your accommodation comfortable and suitable for your family as that has been our top priority. We are also pleased to hear our staff were helpful and friendly and could advise you on your stay – we will pass on the good feedback. We have a varied programme of entertainment and hope that there is something in there for everyone, but it’s something we will keep looking to improve and suggestions are always welcome.

We just want to clarify that there is a small shop in the local village on the main road (a 5 min drive or 15min walk) and that for bigger shopping, Tesco deliver to the site. However we are doing lots of work to change the site starting with improving the facilities that are already there (such as the outside pool which was under maintenance) and then looking at other facilities that our guests would want. We will take your feedback about a shop on board.

The Honicombe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited Honicombe holiday park in early summer.Our initial thoughts were that some of the buildings and facilities were a little tired clearly requiring refurbishment.The outdoor pool area was not in use and in poor condition which was disappointing.However on our first evening we visited the bar area and learnt that the site was undergoing a thorough refurbishment programme,after many years of neglect.We stopped in a valley lodge (number 18 ) which had recently been updated with brand new bathrooms,it is an upside down house which is ideal ensuring the beautiful views along the valley can be enjoyed throughout the day..The lodge is well decorated in a contemporary style and more than comfortable with lots of space and storage.The lodge was very clean and proved to be a perfect base for our family holiday. Honicome is perfectly situated to explore this area,there are many beautiful beaches and attractions to explore and enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alibee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

It’s great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Honicombe. The site was indeed taken over by completely new management just under a year ago and we have been working really hard to build on the potential of the site.

We’re really pleased to hear that your lodge was comfortable as this was one of our top priorities. The facilities are also going to be upgraded to match and we hope that we can encourage you to come back to see the on going improvement in the near future. We agree that Honicombe is a great place for exploring all the amazing attractions and natural beauty that Cornwall and Devon have to offer.

The Honicombe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Staying at No 18, a spacious,very comfortable & clean acomodation. Having 2 bathrooms a real plus & comfy beds.
A good base for exploring the area or you could have a quiet relaxing holiday in the lovely woodland setting.
The indoor pool was very popular, other features were tennis courts & a childrens play area.
There is also a bar & restaurant, which we did not get round to trying.
Plenty of car parking .

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank sheila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonicombeManorTeam, General Manager at Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We’re really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the comfortable accommodation here at Honicombe. We really hope that you will think of coming back to stay with us again soon so that you can explore even more of the local attractions. The setting and the Tamar Valley location as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty are something we are really proud of and make a great setting for an active or relaxing break, so we are really glad you enjoyed it too.

The Honicombe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just come back from a stay and would not recommended for families of children under 5's. On arrival the reception staff where friendly so could not fault them. We had lodge 55 which was in a nice spot. When you first walk in there was a smell of damp although with the windows and door open soon went although there where a bit of mold on the bottom of the living room curtain. We had a leak from the shower which when threw to the bedroom threw the wall and ended up black and the carpet soaked. We informed the reception and the maintenance man replaced 8 tiles and re grouted. He then put a heater in the room to dry out the carpet which we would not of been happy about if we where using the bedroom to sleep in but where using it as storage of our bags although we where asked if we wanted to move we decided not to. We stayed here after reading on the website family entertainment and I would not class family bingo, family quiz and zumba as entertainment especially for a 4 year old, although on the friday there was childrens games on but we did not go so could not say what it was like. We however would of gone only for the fact we would of had our tea in the manor house whilst the games where on but we went up on the wednesday night only to be told you needed to book a table as the chef could only cook for one table at a time which we had never heard of our lives. We would not of of minded if it was busy but there was only one table in there and they informed us there was not much availble on the menu as everything they asked for the did not have. We appreciate it has been took over by new management and there is alot of work to be done but if you want some profit we would advise some more training for your chef so he can cope and cook for more than one table. This is ok for a base as there is a lot to see and do in cornwall but would not recommended to anyone thinking of staying here and not go out .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaramorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Like many others had some concerns about the site after reading the reviews however, our lodge was lovely, beautifully decorated and clean! Lady on reception welcoming on arrival and helpful with enquiries during our stay regarding day out information. Bar staff friendly and helpful in our experience! The hot tub was fabulous and used nearly every day, and was cleaned during our stay by a very nice maintenance man. There are areas of the sites that are tired but it is evident that refurbishment is underway to address them (Rome wasn't built in a day) and this didn't detract from our enjoyment. Can't comment on food as didn't eat in the restaurant and we spent every day out exploring the beautiful local area. However a lovely place to eat is the Cross House Inn 5 minutes away! Only tiny nuisance we had was temperamental door lock which took up to 15 minutes to lock/unlock on several occasions (fire safety). Was reported and looked at although not resolved as worked when checked by maintenance staff so we used the door to the bedroom for the last 2 days instead when we still had problems. I believe this was looked at again after we left and made reception aware at departure that there was still a problem. In conclusion lovely staff, pretty lodge, and a lovely base for our holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed in Valley Lodge 24! Lovely views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teldi1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Callington
3.3 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
11.1 mi away
Elfordleigh Hotel
Elfordleigh Hotel
#14 of 21 in Plymouth
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Drakewalls Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 8 in Gunnislake
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Hengar Manor Country Park
7.2 mi away
Langstone Manor Holiday Park & Cottages
4.8 mi away
Cadson Manor
Cadson Manor
#1 of 11 in Callington
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort

Address: St Anns Chapel, Callington PL17 8JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Callington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Callington
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honicombe Holiday Park is now under completely new ownership. The new management company (Honicombe Ltd.) took over the site on 17 August 2012, was formed by a group of Honicombe holiday property owners and is committed to improving the site and its facilities in order to enhance the experience of visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honicombe Manor Hotel Callington
Honicombe Manor Holiday Resort Callington, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing