We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab”
Review of Queens Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queens Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Breage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

Great location, rooms are big and well decorated. The bed was spot on. Good night had.i left early so didn't have a cooked breakfast, but they left cereals, fruit out for me. Would recommend to anyone. Very homely.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saywhatisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
21
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We chose to stay here for a week to walk parts of the South-West Coastal Path around the Lizard and Land's End peninsulas, and it turned out to be the ideal location. Chris and Sue and their many helpers were kind and attentive hosts, providing simple but good accommodation on a B&B basis, with the bonus of an excellent evening menu. The pub is the centre of the village, with blazing log fires and chatty locals.

We had the smaller of the two upstairs rooms, with our own key providing separate access. The bedroom was clean and comfortable, with good storage space, tea-making facilities, TV and central heating which was much appreciated in a cold April week. The en-suite bathroom was kept sparkling and had a powerful hot shower. Yes, the church bell across the road does chime every hour, day and night, and the happy murmers from the bar below do drift upwards, but this is a village pub so why not enjoy the atmosphere.

The full English breakfast provided was generous and served in a bright and cheerful corner of the bar. The dinner menu far exceeded the normal pub grub, and in addition there was a Specials board with lots of lovely fish dishes. The food was local, fresh, home-made and imaginative, well-cooked and well-presented. In season there will be fresh vegetable from the allotments at the back of the pub.

There's a good range of Cornish beers and cider, wines by the glass and you may also be tempted to try a bottle from Chris' amazing list of bin-end bargains. This pub has everything!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great weekend at the Queens Arms Breage. Lovely room with good bathroom. Excellent staff, friendly service,great food. Could not fault it! Great location for touring west Cornwall. I think we should keep it a secret!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I stumbled across this B&B (pub) by accident and was blown away by how lovely the room and bathroom were - spotlessly clean, well appointed with everything I needed, tastefully decorated and terrific value. No noise problems either, from the pub downstairs. I had my own key so could come and go as I pleased and could have eaten downstairs in the pub for breakfast or dinner, if I had wanted to, but instead I preferred to eat out every morning and evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixieTigerLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My work collegue was celebrating a Birthday in the village so I decided to stay over and chose the Queens Arms Breage after much looking at and around the local area and reading reviews.
Well did I choose right? Absolutely.
Greeted by Chris with a warm welcome, stayed in a lovely clean and comfortable room.
The church view was fantastic and the chiming of the bells were great.
Breakfast was delicious with a good choice and kept me going all day.
As I have a food intolerence to cows milk, I was provided with soya milk, which I thought was a lovely touch and thoughtful to my stay.
I will certainly be returning for an evening meal or Sunday lunch with family and friends as the menu and special board looked great and many choices for dietry requirements.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for two nights in a lovely room, with kingsized bed, that overlooked the church. The room was spacious, bright and airy, with a good sized bathroom. The owners were really friendly and welcoming, and the breakfasts were execellent. We weren't planning to eat at the pub on both the nights we stayed, but the food was so good and atmosphere so friendly that we did! There was a bit of noise from the bar below our room until 11ish, but it was by no means disruptive. All in all, we had a great time and couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charden_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soudorgues, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights over the Whitsun weekend for my niece's wedding. Our room had a lovely king size Breton marriage bed (very comfortable) and was nicely fitted out with attractive pictures, velvet cushions and antique furniture. There was free WiFi and breakfast was included. Meals were extremely generous (hard to eat more than one course) and the owners Chris and Sue were very welcoming. There was a beer festival the weekend we were there and so the pub was buzzing. Locals were very friendly and chatty - a really proper pub! Don't stay here if you want a quiet weekend (we were serenaded to sleep by the pub singer on the Saturday night but he stopped before midnight) but DO stay if you want welcome, atmosphere and general conviviality with a lovely room and bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixietoadstool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breage
0.0 mi away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
John Francis Basset Hotel
0.0 mi away
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Newmoor Park
Newmoor Park
#1 of 24 in Launceston
311 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Penzance
YHA Penzance
#1 of 1 in Castle Horneck
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kirribilli Guest House
Kirribilli Guest House
#49 of 105 in Newquay
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Arms

Property: Queens Arms
Address: | Near Helston, Breage, Helston TR13 9PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Helston > Breage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Breage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Arms is a traditional family friendly public house with two en-suite bed and breakfast rooms. Situated in the village of Breage overlooking the 15th century parish church, featuring beamed ceilings and three open fireplaces, it benefits from an additional dining room just off the main bar. It offers a wide variety of real ales with up to seven at a time with locally sourced menus and seasonal specials. The pub offers a large covered outdoor space for alfresco dining, whatever the weather. There is also a BBQ area all situated within the pubs grounds incorporating 5 caravan pitches, a children's play area and allotments growing produce for the kitchen. The queens arms can also cater for weddings and other events, working with a local marquee company it can offer the perfect space for that special day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com and PitchUp so you can book your Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing