We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cottage in fabulous location.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Plough Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boscastle, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jonathan...
1 review
“Nice cottage in fabulous location.”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic views, comfortable and clean cottage, good facilities for a family with young children. We would stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesliebal...
Finchampstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning place”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

What a wonderful idealic place to stay for Easter . 4 adults , 2 children plenty of room . Super new kitchen ... and the garden (s) a jugé trampoline and playarea for our boys and a field to play footie ..., all that overlooking Boscastle area but not a single house in sight !!!!
If i wasn't already married I would seriously consider this place as there is a church behind and other cottages to let and tons of space for a marquee !!!!'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deblondes...
Wilmington, DE
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Views and lots of Moos!”
Reviewed July 15, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband, daughter and I stayed here with another couple and their son. Sean, the owner, graciously greeted us upon our late arrival. The cottage was neat, clean and had a workable kitchen. The most memorable and wonderful part of our stay was waking up that first morning to the stunning views of the countryside and hearing the cows mooing. We are suburbanites and don't have that opportunity where we live. The surrounding trails were great as was the little church nearby. A few staples, such as salt/pepper, sugar, bath soap and a shower curtain for the main bathroom's freestanding tub would have made it outstanding. Overall, this was a lovely place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charming surroundings and nature.
Liked least: Lack of staples mentioned above.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pat B
2 reviews
“Quaint and beautiful property with outstanding views!”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Plough Cottage is in a small hamlet of Lesnewth. It's quite close to Boscastle and several other Cornwall sea towns. The cottage is very nice - couches were wonderfully confy and the property was clean and well equipped. Sean met us late in the evening on arrival and welcomed us. The pictures of the property were accurate and it was lovely. We enjoyed walking and exploring around the property. Pet and child friendly, this was a very nice place and we would definitely visit again. It is a bit off the beaten path but that adds to its charm. Sean's directions were spot on and we were able to easily find the property at night on our first sojourn into the Cornwall countryside. Definitely worth a stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and views off the back porch
Liked least: The road in was a little challenging for an American driver :-)
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ch14mbs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Only Place to stay!”
Reviewed November 2, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Courtyard farm is absolutely amazing, the cottages have been decorated and refurbished to the highest of standards! in the centre of the valency valley the views are amazing.
Between the popular tourist towns/villages the cottages are in the most perfect position and the views of the sea on the nicest of days from the cottages are simply breathtaking!

Would recommend to everyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claire w
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cozy Cottage with Amazing Views”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself, husband and two small children (3yrs & 15mnths) stayed for a week at this cozy cottage. We had a warm welcome from Sean on arrival and shown to our cottage immediately. Good convenient parking right outside the property which is ideal when transferring all the paraphernalia you end up taking away when you have children!
The cottage has three bedrooms, one of which is accessed through another bedroom. In our case, this wasn't an issue but I guess if you are staying with an adult party, this limits privacy. However, given the adjoining room has bunk beds, it's most likely intended for children in any event.
I would note that there are a couple of steps within the property - one going down to a bedroom, and one in the lounge going down to the back door. This did prove challenging at first for our 15 month old, who did fall a couple of times, and the back door step obviously goes down to the glass door which could have been nasty. However, once she learnt where the steps were, she did get used to them (we just had to keep an extra eye on her).

The cottage was sufficiently clean and bath & hand towels were provided as promised.

To the back of the cottage is a lovely decking area with table and chairs, looking out to stunning views of the valley and in the distance you can see the sea. A bonus for me was the amount of House Martins flying around the area - so much fun to watch. In the evenings we could spot rabbits and foxes too.

It's essential to have a car as the cottage is a good few miles from any towns/villages. We also took a particular 'hairy' route to Boscastle, turning right out of the cottage, which we wouldn't recommend! We know the area well though, so were easily able to drive down to Polzealth beach (around 35 mins drive) and in to Boscastle (around 10/15 mins). It's a very beautiful area and well worth exploring.

I think it would be a really nice touch, if some soap could be provided for either the kitchen or bathroom. Unfortunatley we didn't take any with us, so until we could get to the shops, we were without handsoap. another very minor point, would be that it would be great if a couple of tea towells could be provided, rather than just one. But I have no doubt that if we had gone to ask for some, they would have happily provided them. So both minor points.

Overall we had a lovely holiday and any issues we encountered were quickly resolved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge/eating area, decking outside & the views
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing