We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 17 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Had a wonderful nights stay at The Riverside. Staff were lovely and very accommodating.
The rooms are perfect, the breakfast fantastic, couldn't ask for anything more really! we will definitely be back again for another visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    108
    22
    12
    4
See reviews for
71
311
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We popped in for coffee and was immediately greeted with a friendly face - this was the stormy Valentine weekend, remember! And even though we only wanted coffee we were given a table with a lovely view. Plus free wifi. Coffee was proper Italian. Menu looked amazing and it started to fill up while we were there. As we're going back later in the year we were reading the accommodation leaflet and then offered a look in Room 2 - fabulous. I really can't believe the prices either - £40 per night including breakfast. But what made me go to the trouble to write this review was the attitude of the lovely man who showed us around - his philosophy was that he'd rather charge less and be full than charge more and be empty! What a breath of fresh air - and that's why we will definitely be returning. Well done Riverside.

Room Tip: Choose Room 2 for the view but not if you want a stand up shower. It has a bath with a shower attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiplingsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

stayed here after a family tragedy, and my parents kindly brought me here as Boscastle is one of my favourite places. I found the stay therapeutic and was made to feel most welcome. A lovely hotel, cosy clean and warm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gymrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
567 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Recently stayed here taking advantage of a special special January offer of £25pppn against the usual £40 (which is itself a most reasonable 2014 tariff). I was well impressed by a very pleasant en-suite double very close to the river, facing west. The toiletries, alongside the neatly folded and positioned towels, were quality items. Large TV in the corner and a colossal bed ( in fact two singles merged without a hint of a join) together with a very clean look, completed the picture. I have to admit to NOT eating there in the evenings simply because the real ales and Cornish Rattler up at the tremendous Cobweb Inn was just too much of a draw. However the Dinner menu looked good and I happened to notice that their Sunday Lunch carvery table plan for 26th January was virtually full, which confirms the fact that they take their cooking seriously. Incidentally,The Cobweb served the biggest gammon steak and sides I have EVER had up and down the country. One bizarre but thoughtful gesture was a tray for wet footwear by the door. Altogether a very trusting atmosphere prevailed and the staff were most unassuming and exceptionally well presented in freshly ironed white shirts. The breakfast was very sound indeed with a sensible range of about ten options including haddock and, notably, a truly superb monster kipper bigger than those I have had up in Northumberland. The little port of Boscastle is a perfect location and we were fortunate to have very rough weather for walks and so on. Note that Boscastle Harbour has a remarkable blow hole known as the Devils Bellows, that sends a massive blast in stormy weather about one hour before and after low tide. For me, this was a far far better value stay than I have had in quite a few places on the coast in Norfolk. True, the beach walks up there are longer, more abundant, easier to get to, and more solitary than down in Cornwall but somehow Cornwall has a special feel with bigger waves than generally present on the east coast. Parking was not an issue as I merely had to get a £5.20 24hr ticket using the usual Ringo system (which even remembered my registration from a visit to Pompey two years before). The Port William some 5 miles away was fully booked at weekends for weeks ahead: this was a far better deal.

Room Tip: Room 1 was fine for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent three nights at the Riverside over New Year and the stay was perfect! The staff were friendly and helpful (Ross couldn’t do enough for us) and would really go out of their way to ensure their guests were well looked after; they even made the decision during dinner on New Year’s Eve that they were happy to open for breakfast the next morning as the staff felt they were ‘up for it’.
Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean – It was also well maintained over the three days.
Our only criticism for the whole trip was other guests not being overly considerate when in communal areas. We stayed in room 1, meaning other guests had to pass our room to get to / from their rooms. It seemed a large number of the guests didn’t seem to recognise the room was occupied and were quite happy to continue their conversations loudly when passing our room no matter the time of day / night. We recognise this is not an issue with the hotel but perhaps a sign / polite reminder on check in would remind guests that it’s an older building / sound travels etc.
Overall a fantastic stay and we can’t wait to go back!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel_Sparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights at this most excellent establishment.
My room was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were very good and well prepared.
The owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Booked a midweek stay and was disappointed that no food was served in the evening as was in the winter break but the breakfast made up for it. the room we had was large clean and very nice, like I said be staying again next year so cant wait.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank markwhittingham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#3 of 17 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#8 of 17 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Property: The Riverside
Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing