We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day excellent stay”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #3 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Riverside is a great place to stay, we only had one night and wished we had more. The staff were brilliant, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - well done them. Breakfast was very good and served with a smile, we had dinner the previous evening and the food was very good again.
Room 6 was spacious and clean and tidy. No shower but the bath was good fun for a change. Would be happy to stay there again as the river as a background sent us both of to sleep very quickly.
Boscastle itself is very nice for walking or just as a base for North Cornwall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray_Puttick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 575 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in October. During our first night we ate at the hotel. The food was very poor. Chicken apparently marrinated in lemon that actually tasted only of lemon. Rib eye steak that was mediocre at best, but without the price tag to match. We raised our concern about the chicken to the manager who advised that as no concern had been raised during their check back process - which occuured two minutes after delivery of the food - that nothing could be done. We advised that the chicken hadn't actually been started at that point, but to no avail. We will not have dinner here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We couldn't have stayed at a more friendly place. Nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff. Our room was excellent, comfy bed, hot shower and clean. The choice of breakfast was brilliant and kept us going till we returned. We dined here in the evening and once again could not fault the staff, the food or the service. The views and walks were breath taking. Will definitely be back, very soon we hope.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valtrussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were exhibiting at the Boscastle Festival in October, so it was a working holiday for us, the staff were so good, very attentive, polite and friendly, it was great not to have to worry about anything. Our room was great with the sound of the river rushing past lulled us to sleep each night, and to wake up to a wonderful breakfast that set us up for the day. We also treated ourselves to a fantastic steak dinner in the resteraunt, best steak we have ever eaten. A very big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so good. We will be back again next year...if not before.
John & Jeannie Adey, Plymouth

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

LOVELY, FRIENDLY, WARM, CLEAN, PICTURESQUE ... are just a few words to describe our weekend stay at The Riverside. We travelled a long way but it was worth every second. We cannot fault anything from the room to the food; the staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable and of the highest quality. We highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a top quality 5* place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is a very friendly,comfortable B&B bang in the middle of Boscastle for pubs,groceries, strolling to the harbour etc. However the breakfasts are absolutely brilliant, and I don't just mean a huge English plateful, but the choice of alternatives. Add to this the superb food emanating from the kitchen in the evenings and one has to say it's the perfiect venue. As far as I'm concerned rooms is rooms and a good clean bed and plenty of hot water is all I need. I got it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are queter unless a babbling river disturbs you. At front can hear occasinal traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights the room was spacious beautifully clean and the view was spectacular. The breakfasts were delicious plentiful and all made with local ingredients. We ate at the restaurant on 2 evenings and just like the breakfasts they were spectacular both in taste and presentation. All the staff were exceptional and could not do enough for us. I would highly recommend the Riverside as a place to stay and can't wait to go back our selves

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dexter1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,312 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: $84 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing