We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing is too much trouble”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Upminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nothing is too much trouble”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked The Riverside for the weekend and a meal at the restaurant on Saturday night to surprise my father for his 80th birthday. From the moment of booking to the moment we left absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the staff. From decorating the table to storing the cake and arranging transport for my dad, everything was approached with warmth and enthusiasm. Our meal was absolutely superb and huge thanks to the staff and guests for their chorus of happy birthday. It was truly a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    115
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
75
331
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

For a weekend away this was excellent - having chosen carefully from other's reviews we were not disappointed We received a warm welcome to a most comfortable place with an very good restaurent with helpful & pleasant staff. A big thank you to The Riverside.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband had been away on a 6 week training course and had missed valentines, so when he came back we decided to go away and have our own valentines weekend.
We knew we wanted to go somewhere that we could go coast walking as this is one of our favourite pasttimes, we found The Riverside and with it being located right in the middle of Boscastle itself we felt it would be ideal.
They had a 3 for 2 nights offer on which we decided to go for.
Upon arrival we were greeted and shown our room, which had a kingsized bed with pretty covers and a bag of toiletries on the bottom, a wardrobe, dressing table and large TV, they even had a tray in the corner for your dirty footwear which is good as most peolpe are there on walking holidays. Our bathroom had a large bath big enough for my husband to lie in!!! toilet and sink. The view was over the river at the back. The breakfast was to die for, offering full english in different sizes, fresh fruit, fish. On the saturday we ate in the restaurant and I had a steak........being a chef it takes alot to impress me with steaks but this was a melt in your mouth meal. Nothing seemed too much trouble when we asked for something. The staff made us feel welcome and seemed happy and efficient at all times.
I cant recommend ''The Riverside'' enough and will be going back at some point.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the kingsized bed!!!! which is at the back of the hotel overlooking the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Riverside Hotel was instantly welcoming, homely and warming. Within minutes of arrival we knew we had selected the right hotel for a weekend break away.

Following check-in, the staff member offered to take our luggage to our rooms for us (not experienced that for a long time), ensured we had enough heating and provided us with key information.

The bedroom was very well presented with neutral decor, comfy beds and high quality linens and towels. The bathroom was clean and modern with a large bath. The room came equipped with a large flat screen TV/DVD player, refreshment tray and a little bag of toiletries.

The best part of the experience was the absolutely amazing breakfast that we enjoyed. Not only were we spoilt for choice. We were served everything direct to our table, and the quality of the food was outstanding – probably the best cooked breakfast I have ever tasted!!!
In summary, an outstanding hotel in a lovely area – well worth a visit!! We will be returning again soon – which is very usual for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig_lissaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have stayed for short breaks on 5 or 6 occasions. Stayed in different rooms each time and have been very pleased with every one of them. Service is excellent and rooms are warm, clean with lovely comfortable beds. We will return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynseigh14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is the second time we have spent Valentines weekend at the Riverside and didn't disappoint. Fabulous food, lovely room, extremely friendly service and would reccommend very highly. Hopefully gong back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just returned from a two night break which was fabulous. The double room was spotless and spacious. Breakfast was hearty and well cooked. Dinner perfect and the friendly staff could not do enough to ensure all our needs were met
View from room 15 was excellent. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return if in the area again.

Room Tip: We had room 15 overlooking the road and the river so could imagine that it could be a little a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank von186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
459 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
369 reviews
3.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#2 of 24 in Tintagel
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#11 of 16 in Boscastle
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Property: The Riverside
Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing