We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booked for two nights but stayed for three!”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Booked for two nights but stayed for three!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Title says it all really. Can only echo what many others have said. Superb friendly service from owners and staff. Bedroom was very comfortable, every need catered for. The choice for breakfast is excellent as is the menu for dinner....the food would be worthy of a rosette or two if rated as an AA hotel but it's down as a guest house I suspect as it lacks the room downstairs for a residents lounge. However that facility isn't really needed.
Really can't recommend The Riverside highly enough. Wonderful position looking down the river to the harbour and the sound of the river gurgling by the room at night or early morning a bonus. Not having their own car park is no problem as the extensive council car park is virtually next door. Boscastle itself is very picturesque with plenty of shops and walks and the only place to stay is The Riverside. The fact that it is cheaper for B&B than surrounding hotels is also a bonus!

Room Tip: Room 15 on the top floor. Superb views in two directions of river and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantherdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    110
    22
    12
    5
See reviews for
73
314
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We celebrated our wedding anniversary at The Riverside in Boscastle.
As usual, we have been before, the service, restaurant food and friendliness of the staff were all superb The Menu, quality of the food and the Healthy Options make for a splendid meal, be it breakfast, lunch or especially dinner. As a vegetarian I was offered more choices than I have been anywhere.
We are already planning our next visit which will probably be in March 2013.

Highly recommended to all.

Dena and Brian.
Exmouth, Devon.

Room Tip: Roomj 15 has the most beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spent a few days wandering the West country and this was the best of our stays. Not sure if this is classed as a B & B or a small hotel but either way it is a perfect stopping point. The building is a 17th century, stone built typically Cornish building with a maze of corridors & rooms all over the place. Our room was bright & comfortable with a bubbling river right below us.The staff were all very friendly & helpful & the food was just excellent. We had breakfast, lunch & dinner at the hotel and were very pleased with all of it. If the weather permits, you can walk from the bar/restaurant across the bridge to their riverside beer garden. Boscastle is a lovely little village with the added attraction of a riverside walk down to the harbour where you can clamber over the rocks to watch the Atlantic Ocean crashing on the Cornish coastline. Fabulous.
Plan to come back here again just to sample the excellent dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room provided the burbling water won't keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyolegit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Riverside. Lovely room, fantastic food and just as relaxing as it could be. Staff is uniformly welcoming and the food was so good we came back the second night for dinner. Hike at least a bit of the coast path whilst you are there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EurekaGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Riverside for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel and bedroom was very clean and comfortable. There was no noise to be heard from other guests, (the only noise was the lovely flow of the river which our room overlooked) plentiful hot water in the bathroom and easy to regulate heating.

The staff were very helpful and polite and the breakfast excellent.

Don't book through a website as they wanted an extra £27 for the two nights book direct with the hotel for the best price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having eaten in the Riverside restaurant on previous visits to Boscastle, we decided to stay for a few days. So glad we did. Excellent value for money - nice clean comfortable room, welcoming friendly staff (some of whom remembered us from our previous lunch visits) and fantastic food and service throughout. Have already recommended to a couple of friends and would definitely go again.
Boscastle itself is beautiful and fascinating, and is a great base for exploring this area of North Cornwall, although the south coast is also within easy reach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NettaR1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived in Boscastle in June, and decided to see if there were vacancies in the Riverside. We were welcomed in by a pleasant young girl who showed us to the only available room at the very top of the hotel. The room was large, well presented, and spotless!
In the evening we chose to eat here because the menu was the best in the village - good choices for vegetarians (who, unbelievably, are still very much under-catered for!!). The young manager seated us, and recommended great ales and ciders while we made our choices.
When our food came it was piping hot, well-presented, and plentiful. Delicious! We even manage to force down one of the wonderful desserts ;-)
We spent a good night in a comfortable bed, in our quiet room.
Breakfast was lovely! Again, plenty of vegetarian options! We actually struggled to finish our breakfast, and we were sorry to leave.
We look forward to our next visit, and recommend this hotel to all: friendly, chatty staff, clean and spacious rooms, good food, and an ideal location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#3 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Property: The Riverside
Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing