We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly hotel”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Riverside for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel and bedroom was very clean and comfortable. There was no noise to be heard from other guests, (the only noise was the lovely flow of the river which our room overlooked) plentiful hot water in the bathroom and easy to regulate heating.

The staff were very helpful and polite and the breakfast excellent.

Don't book through a website as they wanted an extra £27 for the two nights book direct with the hotel for the best price.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 579 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having eaten in the Riverside restaurant on previous visits to Boscastle, we decided to stay for a few days. So glad we did. Excellent value for money - nice clean comfortable room, welcoming friendly staff (some of whom remembered us from our previous lunch visits) and fantastic food and service throughout. Have already recommended to a couple of friends and would definitely go again.
Boscastle itself is beautiful and fascinating, and is a great base for exploring this area of North Cornwall, although the south coast is also within easy reach.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NettaR1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived in Boscastle in June, and decided to see if there were vacancies in the Riverside. We were welcomed in by a pleasant young girl who showed us to the only available room at the very top of the hotel. The room was large, well presented, and spotless!
In the evening we chose to eat here because the menu was the best in the village - good choices for vegetarians (who, unbelievably, are still very much under-catered for!!). The young manager seated us, and recommended great ales and ciders while we made our choices.
When our food came it was piping hot, well-presented, and plentiful. Delicious! We even manage to force down one of the wonderful desserts ;-)
We spent a good night in a comfortable bed, in our quiet room.
Breakfast was lovely! Again, plenty of vegetarian options! We actually struggled to finish our breakfast, and we were sorry to leave.
We look forward to our next visit, and recommend this hotel to all: friendly, chatty staff, clean and spacious rooms, good food, and an ideal location.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Having had some lovely meals at The Riverside on previous visits to Boscastle, we stayed there for a week at the beginning of September. We could see the river and the cliffs from our room which was comfortable and well-equipped. The thing that makes the Riverside special is the staff. They remembered us from earlier in the year and were exceptionally welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble and the service from everyone from the lady who serviced our room every day to the Manager was excellent. The food was amazing - a great choice for breakfasts every day eaten overlooking the river - drinks and light meals in the garden area and the quality of the evening meals was superb. We felt very special.
Another example of their attention to detail is their website and facebook pages. I can tune in to the Riverside webcam on the website to see what's happening in Boscastle whenever I feel the need and their Facebook Thursday competition once a month is a fun way of keeping in touch and winning treats.
The Riverside is a must for anyone visiting Cornwall - a great base to stay at for walkers - or cider drinkers!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay in this lovely small hotel. The staff were wonderful and nothing too much trouble for them .Our room was large, airy, spotlessly clean and nicely furnished with a lovely view of the river which was very soothing to listen to.
The food was outstanding , beautifully cooked and presented and such a superb choice of Menu which was served all day through into the evening.
We are already planning to come back next year.
Thank you all for making our visit so pleasant.

Room Tip: We had room 14 on the 3rd floor which had stunning views of the river and terrace garden and apart f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scandinavia_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

A big thankyou to the staff at the Riverside who patched me up after I had slipped over and gashed my arm. Then looked after my gear while I trundled off to the local GP's surgery the following morning. Food and service in the restaurant was very good too. Only minor gripe was a lack of local beer on tap, but a bottle of Doom Bar was an adequate relacement.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandC37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed in the Riverside for two nights in July 2012 and what a fantastic Hotel.
As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Adam, a very friendly guy and in fact over the two days all the staff could not have been more helpful.
The Hotel was great, the staff made you feel very welcome at all times, the food was brilliant and could not be faulted. Boscastle itself is an unspoilt area of naturally beauty. We have already booked again for next year. Very Highly recommended.
Thanks for a brilliant, memorable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteDLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
509 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,354 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: $79 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing