We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed for one night - the owner was extremely welcoming and upgraded us to a family room which had triple aspect at the front of the hotel with a wonderful view of the river. The room was spacious and very clean, well decorated and had lots of storage space (which we didn't need for our one night stay but we would have made the most of it had we been staying longer). The bed was a "link bed" which was fine but it would have been good to have had a double. Bathroom modern with good toilletries and plenty of hot water.
Unfortunately we had to leave at 7.45am and breakfast isn't served until 8.30am but we were offered toast and cereals which we thought was very kind. Shame we couldn't have tried the full English and it sounds wonderful. A very good stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banyan-Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 575 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel is better than we expected. The staff were helpful but unobtrusive and the location is perfect. The restaurent is of a high standard.Exceeded our expectations at every level.

Room Tip: Room 15 is the room the web cam views from. The views from the web cam are the views from room 15...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just wanted to say a big thank you ad well done to The Riverside. We joined you for Sunday Lunch on 1st April and were thrilled with the wonderful carvery and great service we received. An excellent venue and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

If you want a comfortable and luxurious stay in the middle of Boscastle with the best restaurant around then the Riverside is the place for you. Immaculate rooms and the best breakfast I've had in ages.

Room Tip: I like Room 6...the river is below and the bath+shower fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelmsfordMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful weekend at The Riverside. Very welcoming, friendly, helpful staff. The rooms were very clean. I would definately recommend this wonderful "family run" hotel and plan to return later in the year!! xx

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a last minute overnight stay at the Riverside, and we were not impressed. Our room was at the back of the hotel, overlooking the river, it was a very hot day, and the room only had small top windows to open, which was good in one way, as the smells and the smoke/steam from the kitchen below wafted through. The decor was as if you were visiting your Grandma's house! nothing seemed to go together, pictures on the wall had absolutely nothing to do with Boscastle, just some random Edwardian people. the lampshade hanging down was of the old fashioned glass/flowered type and as for the bed linen? it may have been fashionable in the 70's! The bathroom was airy and bright, but there was no overhead shower, the towel rail was free standing and wobbley. Breakfast was adequate, but not locally sourced as described, would we stay ther again ? definitely not.

Room Tip: don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesChelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The hotel was recommended and it lived up to our expectations. Very clean & welcoming. Located in the heart of the village. Evening meal was delicious. Will most likely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
498 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,318 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: $84 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riverside 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing