We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend!”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #2 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed with a group of friends at the end of January. The Riverside is all you could want and more. The service was brilliant and you wanted for nothing. The rooms are comfortable and the food was delicious, especially the breakfasts! All the staff made our stay one to remember. Boscastle is a lovely place to get away from the stresses of everyday life and it is all made so effortless at the Riverside. My only regret is that my stay wasn't for longer...I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LittleG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 580 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights at the end of January 2012. The food was out of this world Our room was bright and clean and overlooking the river running to the harbor. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and we will stop here again when visiting Cornwall. Andrew, Ross, and Adam are always on hand to help and the Chef cooks a steak just to your liking. We would highly recommend the hotel and the town of Boscastle.

John & Jennie Craze

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9OHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

very friendly family service and every bedroom is different, Breakfast is amazing and the food generally excellent, Highly recommended, Boscastle is a nice quiet retreat to get away from it all and a handy base for exploring

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This was our first visit to The Riverside in Boscastle. We found the standard of our room outstanding, the food excellent and the service wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble whether supplying fresh milk to our room or going to a local store to buy soya milk.

This hotel puts back my faith in English hotels!

Room Tip: Room 15 had a view of the rrver Valency and the harbour. Excellent. Very atmospheric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I love this hotel. I have stayed here off and on for many years usually with my wife. On this occasion I stayed on my own as I walked the southwest coastal path. It has a fantastic location near the bridge alongside the river. The place is spotless, the beds comfortable and the value for money unarguable. The staff are attentive without being pushy, the breakfast was very good. The inhouse restaurant is first class though you may need to book. As I say, I love this hotel and will keep going there

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillwalker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

It all started in February with a "brown sugar meringue"! We called in for an afternoon tea and enjoyed the most amazing substitute for the traditional scones. The staff were friendly and the history of the hotel so fascinating - the room were were sitting in had been swept away in 2004 and the hotelier's wife and grandson had been the "stars" of the iconic rescue photo that was published around the world - that we took away a leaflet.

Within a few weeks I had booked Room 2 for the weekend and the restaurant for a big family celebration in November. That has now happened and everything was just perfect. From a delicious dinner for two on Saturday night (the fish stew as a starter could be a meal in itself was absolutely scrumptious, and the shredded duck was superb), to the delightful spacious and warm Room Two with its best view in the village, to the amazing breakfast all served at your table (the real not dyed smoked haddock with perfectly poached eggs is fantastic), to our Sunday lunch for 28 people with not a single person disappointed with any aspect of the food or the service (even down to being served with your vegetables at the first-class carvery), and those who chose it for dessert being "blown away" by - you guessed it - the brown sugar meringue. Peter and Andy and the staff and the chefs and the team were just brilliant. If you go to stay in Boscastle, this hotel is a must, but if you have Room Two, please look after it because we're going to want it again and again. A massive thank you to you all at the Riverside for giving us a simply wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Room Two has a fabulous view sraight towards the harbour and the sea. The November sun's warmth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is one of the best small hotels we have stayed in in England and know wonder the breakfasts are award winners and you need to book for an evening meal what great food. The staff are also friendly with out being intrusive. My wife & I will be back as our 6 day stay in this beautiful location must be repeated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
510 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
287 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
60 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: $79 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing