We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Welcoming and Enjoyable”
Review of The Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Riverside
Ranked #3 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We were welcome at The Riverside from the moment the door opened when we arrived until the moment we left a couple of days later. Checking in was the easiest we have ever encountered and we were shown to our room (Room 2) on the 1st floor which overlooked the river with views down towards the harbour. The room was well appointed with everything that you could possibly want. We took our evening meals at the hotel too. Service in the restaurant, as throughout the hotel, is marvellous. The menu is wide and caters for all tastes. The food itself is just excellent. Not a single scrap of food went back to the kitchen from our plates during our stay.

Breakfast is of a high quality with a variety of cooked options available, and no wonder that it is award-winning. There are cereals, fruit juices and fish available for breakfast too.

Earlier reviews on this site complain that the hotel should only be 3 star and not 5 star. Well, if you look with more attention, you will see that the 5 stars are from Visit England.com and not the AA or RAC schemes. The hotel well deserves its accreditation.

We had a relaxing and enjoyable stay here, were treated well throughout our stay and have no hesitation is recommending it to others and will return in the future I am sure.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny-glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 576 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

If you are on a diet don't stay here! The food at breakfast and dinner is superb we cannot fault it. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. This was our second visit and it was just as good. Boscastle is a great base for the whole of North Cornwall and Boscastle itself is delightful. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Densum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

What a wonderful weekend l had, very friendly family run hotel and great food.
The rooms were very clean and comfortably will definitely go again!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaparker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

I found this hotel through trip advisor and decided to stay here as it had 5stars and a silver award for breakfast. It is located right in the middle of Boscastle which is great as there are some places that you can only reach by climbing major hills and driving through a very narrow road. The breakfast was a plenty but the sausages were cheap Walls-type sausages (which is a shame as it received a silver award for breakfast!). We dined in the restaurant which was actually fantastic food and we had a great seating too! The people at the hotel are extremely friendly and I actually feel bad writing this review but at the end of the day this is in my experience not a 5star hotel but more a 3star. The reason for considering it as a 3star are: the room was not serviced during our 2day stay (Thu til Sat) ; the shower was falling apart and the bathroom was small and dark with very poor lighting; the room was small for a family of 4; the toilet was slightly dirty when we arrived and that to me is a big no no! I would stay there again as I now know what to expect and the location of the hotel and the staff are a big bonus. Maybe we were just unlucky with our room and the cleaner was on holiday..who knows!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgianbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

we went down with some friends and we had a wounderfull time the riverside i would recomend to anyone. bosscastle is a nice place to stay and the witchcraft cntr is well worth a visit. the only thing i would say is that the sausages should be local made. they are allways their to help. we traveled from northants and they and where so helpfull even thou we arived ate at night. the rooms are very good . we have been to a lot of places in cornwall and this is by far one of the best we have stayed at. we have told our friends and they also have stayed here.i would also recomend a small pub called the highwayman in sourton just of the a30 it is amazin.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitewitch247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Riverside at the beginning of December, booking a much-needed weekend away in the aftermath of a family crisis. It was perfect.

The hotel:
...is situated right in the middle of Boscastle Harbour area next to the river as the name suggests (and yes, it did rain all night, but as a previous reviewer wrote, it's lovely to hear the river) Boscastle and the hotel were very quiet due to the time of year and the cold weather, but that suited us. Still, staff were always on hand if needed. The staff and owner were friendly but professional, which was a good combination. We asked for fresh milk, as the in-room booklet had suggested, and were given a little flask to take back to our room.
The room:
We were given a choice of rooms...the one we chose was sooo comfortable, large and CLEAN! Spotless, in fact. It felt more like a guest-bedroom than a hotel-room, which was so relaxing. Solid oak furniture, a modern duvet-cover and neutral carpets, with unexpected touches such as a hairdryer and wooden coathangers. I had been worried that I wouldn't be warm enough, but the heating was fantastic and we had to turn it down!
The restaurant was busy on the Saturday night, mainly with locals, and again, we were pleasantly surprised at the standard of the food and the professional but friendly service. Oh, and a great choice of breakfasts, including a great veggie option for us.

The price:
Incredible.We were charged only £60 for B&B as we'd had our evening meal in the restaurant.

On the whole:
We were very impressed with the professional way this hotel is run, considering its size and the extremely good price of the room.
No-one would wish a family-crisis upon themselves, but we're certainly looking for an excuse to stay at the Riverside again in the near-future!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaviLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel for 3 years in a row and EVERYTIME it is the best accomedations I have experinenced anywhere in the world. This place has the best of everything. Cozy, home-like, friendly staff, very clean and neat, the greatest food in the restaurant and it located in the heart of town. The price for all this is outstanding. This is my favorite place to stay...I will always return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwanyinclinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.0 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
504 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,334 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
58 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
383 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riverside

Address: The Bridge, Boscastle PL35 0HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: $83 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Riverside 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside is situated in Boscastle, one of the most picturesque parts of North Cornwall. Located in the South West of England, Boscastle and its surrounding area are internationally recognised for their outstanding scenic beauty.Nestled in a secluded valley close to the harbour of Boscastle, The Riverside is open all year round. We have thirteen bedrooms catering for walkers, cyclists, day trippers or holiday breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Riverside Hotel Boscastle
Riverside Hotel Boscastle
The Riverside Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing