We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary”

The Museum of Witchcraft and Magic
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Witchcraft and Magic houses one of the world's largest collections of items relating to witchcraft, the occult and magic. With over 3000 objects, a wise woman's cottage, a herb garden and a shrine it is a memorable place. It has been in the picturesque Cornish coastal village of Boscastle since 1961 and is one of Cornwall's most popular museums rated highly on TripAdvisor. The Museum intrigues visitors with its collections of charms, curses, herbs and healing and sea witchcraft. Some of our most popular items are magical tools such as glass knitting needles, objects which were used for scrying such as black mirrors, crystals and crystal balls and our collection of protection talismans made by soldiers in the trenches of World War One. The Museum also has an extensive library with other 7000 books and an archive of documents which can be viewed online or visited by appointment.
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Scary”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Brilliant, very interesting, unusual and a few hours worth spending there! Not what I expected with many odd and weird exhibits

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Udo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    228
    71
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mytilene, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Awesome | fascinating | A great alternative”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time at this fascinating museum. This was the first time after the floods. This is all about witchcraft and I absolutely fascinating. Everything you wanted to know, relics, historic evidence, documents , haunting , practices and the other magical things to take in.
Price for entry a bit high at first but it's worth it.

Can't believe it has some negative reviews. It's great! There are not many museums like this at all. As a degree graduate of mythology and ancient worlds this was a great find.

Enjoy

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very witchy”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This museum is in the heart of Boscastle and it is a testament to the hard working proprietors who have repaired the village attreactions following the flood. This museum is stacked full of occult artifacts and history, Some of it is a bit gruesome and some a bit adult in nature, Quite dark and not just in a lighting sense, I tended to look at the visitors and guess whether they were interested visitors or possible exhibits. Well worth visiting to get a feel for the history of witchcraft in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time here, the kids really enjoyed it too. I must say we found it all very fascinating and interesting. The staff were very friendly here. Fabulous place. Will definitely be back

Helpful?
2 Thank Xlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Out of this world! My favourite place in the universe.”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I am a regular visitor to this magical museum. The collection is amazing and the staff so very very friendly. This is part of our heritage and makes me proud tobe British. Thank you all for making such a place exist. You all work so very very hard.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 777666austen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Witchcraft and Magic also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Witchcraft and Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing