We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This!”

The Museum of Witchcraft and Magic
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Witchcraft and Magic houses one of the world's largest collections of items relating to witchcraft, the occult and magic. With over 3000 objects, a wise woman's cottage, a herb garden and a shrine it is a memorable place. It has been in the picturesque Cornish coastal village of Boscastle since 1961 and is one of Cornwall's most popular museums rated highly on TripAdvisor. The Museum intrigues visitors with its collections of charms, curses, herbs and healing and sea witchcraft. Some of our most popular items are magical tools such as glass knitting needles, objects which were used for scrying such as black mirrors, crystals and crystal balls and our collection of protection talismans made by soldiers in the trenches of World War One. The Museum also has an extensive library with other 7000 books and an archive of documents which can be viewed online or visited by appointment.
Worcester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This!”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

A fabulous museum tucked away in the historic harbour at Boscastle, Cornwall. There is a series of rooms charting the history of witchcraft with an amazing collection of items throughout the museum. The museum avoids the gimmicks and stereotypes to give an insight into the many different aspects of Witchcraft, both historic and modern. Suitable for all the family it is an attraction not to be missed!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank L_Fenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    200
    64
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience, very enlightening”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Such a magical, amazing place. So interesting to learn about all the different areas and really changed my thinking about witches. I went in imagining evil old women casting spells against innocent people and came out realising that witches were just old time clairvoyants who wanted to help others. A very reasonable £4 entry fee and the owner was very attentive and friendly.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank s_richards6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“this musiam is cornwall number 1 musiam”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

i have been going to the musiam for several years now.the musiam goes from strenth to strenth theres always something new there and all paths are respected.the curator and team have been very helpfull in my own reserch of the traditional craft and herb lore ect.my faverate itom there has to be hariet the tared egyptian skull and i am so pleased she has been looked after and cared for with respect. i also recomend the friends of the musiam of witchcraft as well i have meet many interesting folk through them and long may they continue.

pip

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank philippa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This was our second trip to the Museum and probably won't be our last!

Compared to some other attractions, the Museum has very reasonable entry fees. There is lots to see, with hundreds of attractions, which are all clearly labelled, giving histories of artifacts, etc. It can take as little time to get around the museum or as long as you want. It has a lovely feel to the place, the staff are very welcoming and friendly and will give further information, should you need it.

Whether you practice Wicca or not, you will undoubtedly find this place fascinating!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Katmakenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly Fascinating - you MUST visit!”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We went to the Museum of Witchcraft in Boscastle very recently, my husband and I were fascinated with the whole place, it's filled with very real objects used in witchcraft, there's so much detail and information all around. The owners have put so much thought into the whole place, it works a treat. We loved it!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank BBarratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Museum of Witchcraft and Magic also viewed

 

Been to The Museum of Witchcraft and Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing