We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a meal at this Hotel. Limited menu, and a tendency to be quite pricey. Most being £10-13 for main course only. Also drinks were expensive. But, the quality of the food is good. The portions are not huge, but very tasty. Excellent service. Lovely proprietor who are of French origin, and this is reflected in some of the cuisine. Limited parking outside the Hotel though. There is free WiFi. There is also well documented ghost activity at this premises (according to local books).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gkjackson3uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    138
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
76
249
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a lovely long weekend at the Wellington (accompanied by our border collie) and couldn't fault the Cornish hospitality. Whilst it is a quirky old building and very traditional in style, we actually found this refreshing and relaxing (not every corner of Cornwall needs to be covered in Farrow & Ball paint and ornamental seagulls!). The food was excellent - we were spoilt for choice in both the restaurant (lovely modern country house feel) and cosy Welly Long bar, and the Cornish breakfasts on offer were truly amazing! We did venture out of the hotel one evening, but there was no comparison - this is the best place to eat in Boscastle. We look forward to our next trip soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

we just spent a lovely weekend at the Wellington hotel.its a very old and historic building in the centre of the beautiful village of Boscastle.our room was 15 and it was clean and comfortable.all the staff were so friendly and very helpful.we ate in the bar both nights,and the food was excellent and promptly served,and with a smile.if i had to score this place out of ten,it would get eleven,fantastic.thanks to everyone there.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We hadn't booked anywhere, but as soon as I saw the hotel I knew we had to stay there. I'm so glad we did! My husband and I were given the Thomas Hardy room (14) for the night - an unexpectedly massive room, with large windows allowing plenty of light. The bed was very, very comfortable. In the bathroom we found a framed list of the famous people who had stayed in our room, including Thomas Hardy himself and King Edward VII when he was Prince of Wales. A lovely touch that made the stay feel special.

Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on the night we were there, but breakfast was tasty, with some different hot choices we hadn't had offered at other hotels or B&Bs

The staff, both at breakfast and at reception, were pleasant and helpful, and the guest lounge was perfect for sitting back and relaxing.

We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynetteMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent food menu, reasonable prices and great ambience. We had the fish special of the day - monkfish tails - and it was beautifully cooked and well-presented. Puddings menu was yummy. Service by staff was prompt and cheerful. Good range of beer and cider. Strongly recommended for a special evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Wellington for 2 nights over a weekend in August. We stayed in the Thomas Hardy turret room, and 1 single room for my mum. We had a great time. Rooms were lovely, clean and the turret room was huge. We ate 2 breakfasts and the food was fabulous. We also ate twice in the long bar and all of our dishes were very tasty and plentiful. The mussels are to die for. Had a great time and would definitely recommend. Staff very helpful and polite.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ashlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was spending just a week in south England touring alone, and hadn't booked ahead as I wanted to just "follow my nose" and see where I ended up. Unfortunately didn't know about bank holidays. Searched all over and nothing was available, then this came up and was close enough for me to get to. Well talk about land on my feet! Nice single room, gorgeous location EXACTLY what I was looking for in Cornwall. Had a lovely dinner, breakfast ever so slightly disappointing due to no salmon, but overall worth more than I paid, I felt. Would go back in a heartbeat :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
13.0 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
8.8 mi away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Boscastle PL35 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbour in the Cornish fishing village of Boscastle and surrounded by the beautiful North Cornwall coastline, the Wellington Hotel has benn providing a warm welcome to its guests for many years. A Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn, the Hotel has 14 bedrooms, a traditional pub serving Cornish real ales and home cooked food and a fantastic 2 AA rosette restaurant. There are 10 acres of private woodland walks and the Hotel is in an ideal location for walking the Coastal Path and for discovering Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Boscastle
The Wellington Hotel Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing