We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We came over here for a meal while we were staying in the nearby YHA. The place was deserted (I guess due to the time of year), but we had a great meal in the bar here. The girl who served us was very friendly and even warned us that if we ordered the risotto it would take a long time to cook. I would return for another meal here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    142
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
79
259
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a lovely 1 night stay in the Wellington, in a Turret Room (Thomas Hardy Room). Dont be put off by the slightly shabby carpet on the staircase as the refurbishment of rooms is clearly going well and our room was beautiful, I couldn't fault anything(believe me thats unusual!). Staff were lovely as was the small dining room and breakfast. We will definitely go back! Once all refurbished it will be 5 star quallity. Quick, get there soon.

Room Tip: Turret Rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The staff here are amazing, very personable and they were all really helpful. We stayed in the the turret room (room 14, I think). It was spacious and there was plenty of light coming from the windows. King size bed with a very comfortable mattress. There's a bath in the bathroom but the shower was a bit small. We had a great steak on the first evening of our stay which was delicious and really good value for money. The long bar was a bit disappointing as we felt it could have done with a more appropriate makeover (after the flood) that would have married up with the rest of the hotel. Overall though, a great place to go to explore Boscastle and Tintagel and the South West Coastal path.

Room Tip: Definitely worth having one of the two rooms in the turret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Arrived on a week end and were greated by a lovely receptionist , nothing was too much trouble she even took the bags to the room , which I upgraded on arrival. After a short walk around returned to the hotel and had a few beers in the bar , again nothing was too much trouble the stafff had characters and talked to you !!!! , had dinner in the main bar and the service and food was eexceptional , the girl behind the bar although busy could not do enough to ensure that everything was good, the menue was very comprehensive and food great. The room wa s very good and the heating was on !!! ? This is a great place to stay the staff all did everything to ensure the stay in their hotel was the best , I would highly recomend as a place to stay , faultless thankyou

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristolian_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at the Wellington Hotel back in June. I was travelling by myself and had a very cosy single room on the top floor. Staff were incredibly warm and friendly, bed was comfy, and breakfast was tasty and satisfying. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. There was no parking when I arrived but the staff made accommodations for that. Tip: take the five minute walk at the back of the property to the "Artist's Chair" for great views over Boscastle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGallivants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was staying in Tintagnel for my 50th birthday with my partner and was looking for a nice place to eat, we were in Boscastle and decided to eat at the Wellington. We were made very welcome and were presented with a superb menu choice with a nice range of fish courses. Our orders were processed pleasantly and the service was extremely efficient. We were also given a selection of starters from the taster menu free of charge which were all of a high standard. Overall dining at the Wellington was a very pleasant experience and i would certainly eat there again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Booked Christmas Eve and Day here, with 2 dogs and a 6 year old daughter.We knew they weren't doing Christmas lunch, so booked that at the infamous Camelot Castle Hotel in Tintagel(perfectly good and creepy at the same time!). The weather has been full of floods and gales, but managed to arrive in one piece. The staff were welcoming, and room 6 is a great family room with separate room and bunk bed which was perfect.Tea in the long lounge was absolute bliss, and worth the price of admission. Evening meal in the bar was superb and of an exceptional standard. Cornish breakfasts were delightful, and the scrambled egg and salmon on a muffin will linger in the memory for ages.
Management swear they will be doing the full Christmas package next year, which they must, as there was only one other room occupied. Boscastle is not the prettiest seaside village in Cornwall, and is somewhat in decline, which is a shame as it is a rugged delightful place, and the Wellington and its staff are the starting point for wanting to come and visit to explore the marvellous walks and coastal scenes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justmarriedCowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSWellington, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks for your review and, yes, we are planning to have a Christmas package for 2013! A Happy New Year to you and all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,219 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
115 reviews
13.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
174 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Property: The Wellington Hotel
Address: The Harbour, Boscastle PL35 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbour in the Cornish fishing village of Boscastle and surrounded by the beautiful North Cornwall coastline, the Wellington Hotel has benn providing a warm welcome to its guests for many years. A Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn, the Hotel has 14 bedrooms, a traditional pub serving Cornish real ales and home cooked food and a fantastic 2 AA rosette restaurant. There are 10 acres of private woodland walks and the Hotel is in an ideal location for walking the Coastal Path and for discovering Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Boscastle
The Wellington Hotel Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing