We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and lovely hotel in the heart of Boscastle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in one of the Turret Rooms. The hotel was easy to find, affordable, clean and spacious and the service provided by the staff was very good.

The only things that would make this hotel even better would be;

* Offer of porter service to take luggage to the room (I'm sure this could have been arranged, but it should have been offered at check-in)

* The Waterloo restaurant needs a drastic make-over. The decoration is now dated and their attempt at a 'contemporary feel' to the room has not been done very well. Instead the room comes across as cold and unwelcoming.

* The breakfast choice menu needs to be expanded

Apart from these minor things the hotel is slap bang in the middle of town and provides an excellent base from which to go about your stay. The local tea shops and restaurants ensure you are never hungry !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 487 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Our stay at The Wellington Hotel was for one night only but we wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel is in a prime spot set just back from the main road but still in the town and walking distance from the harbour.

We were given a very warm welcome and our room, Room 16, The Guy Gibson Turret Room was wonderful. The hotel is full of character and our room was lovely - very large with a really comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean and the water lovely and hot. The selection of toiletries and tea/coffee were excellent. Although the floor sloped and the windows rattled, this only emphasised the character and atmosphere of the whole place.

We had a delicious dinner in the bar and the breakfast was lovely too. The Tribute Ale was very, very good!!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. It's in a beautiful location and is also an ideal base for touring Cornwall.

Room Tip: Our room, although one of the most expensive, had a lovely view across the river and was very peacef...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the Wellington. It's a lovely looking building, both inside and out, and we had a great view over Boscastle. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The room was of a good standard. The only way in which I could fault it is that the food in the bar isn't great (had an evening meal there). The breakfast in the hotel was excellent though.

Would definitely recommend staying here for a night or two.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CD1Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My partner, our son and dog stayed at the Wellington for three nights in August. We hadn't stayed in Boscastle before but liked the reviews on this site and the location.

Everything was excellent, the hotel has character and charm that comes with it's age. Don't expect a boutique hotel or spangly new rooms but do expect excellent service from a young team, A great, fun and dog friendly bar and a fantastic restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulaubrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stumbled across beautiful Boscastle and managed to get a late room at this hotel. Our room was so well appointed with all the trimmings of a 5 star hotel but without the price you'd expect. So much attention to detail made our stay very enjoyable indeed, with bath robes, beautiful furnishings and a room with real character. Staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We had a meal in the downstairs bar which was excellent and breakfast was delicious in the classy upstairs restaurant. Overall an extremely memorable experience for a couple of Aussies a long way from home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ricnnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our stay in the hotel was for one night. We stayed at this hotel as it was badly damaged during the 2005 flood. The room was clean and spaced for a UK hotel. The room was clean, well presented and warm and beds were comfortable, , Meals were good and filling. Evening tallant was local singers and musicans singing folk somgs and ballads and was most enjoyable to listen, Our room faced the car park and it was noisy when patrons left late at night. However I did not find any drawbacks to add any further adverse remarks and would recommend this dwelling to others, Boscastle has always been a favourate place in our memory.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights & on the first night ate in the hotels restaurant. The food was outstanding, beautifully presented and could not fault any of the courses in any way, would definately eat here again when next in cornwall. The chef even came out to talk to us and let me sample his peanut butter ice cream (amazing!) All the staff without exception were friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, full english to smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and the girl who served us both days was just lovely. We stayed in room 23 right at the top of the hotel (not suitable for people with mobility problems) the bed was comfortable, everything you needed tea, coffe, biscuits etc and really nice toiletries in the bathroom. If we stayed again we would probably opt for a room on the 2nd floor as it would possibly have more head room as room 23 being at the very top has sloping ceilings, but this did not detract in any way from a very enjoyable stay.

To sum up, great for a break with great food, comfortable quiet rooms and friendly helpful staff..

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heathcliff0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,298 reviews
3.7 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
122 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
271 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
184 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Boscastle PL35 0AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Boscastle
Price Range: $128 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the harbour in the Cornish fishing village of Boscastle and surrounded by the beautiful North Cornwall coastline, the Wellington Hotel has benn providing a warm welcome to its guests for many years. A Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn, the Hotel has 14 bedrooms, a traditional pub serving Cornish real ales and home cooked food and a fantastic 2 AA rosette restaurant. There are 10 acres of private woodland walks and the Hotel is in an ideal location for walking the Coastal Path and for discovering Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Boscastle
The Wellington Hotel Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing