We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant visit”

Boscastle Visitors Centre
Ranked #3 of 10 things to do in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We found Boscastle to be a lovely place to visit, charming little harbour and walk, and the visitor centre provided as much information as we needed. There was one downside to or visit and that came from the local potter in his workshop. It was being advertised as a chance to see the local potter at work and discuss his work, but we found him to be very rude, and unfriendly, and would advise him to work behind closed doors, if he did not wish to meet the public. That aside we enjoyed our visit to Boscastle.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    76
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We expected a film of the flood but the small tv style screen was 'out of order' and the few pictures were not very bigg - there was more about the history of Boscastle and a large 'gift' shop selling many items you can buy in any high street. Should have at least had a proper room with seats and a film of before after and present day of floods.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Boscastle”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lovely village, well worth a visit and checking out the visitor centre especially what happened in the past.
Strolled out to the edge of the harbour lovely views, dogs welcome too..bonus

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilaclady2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ,such teaching tools for the kdis”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Really like how they kept a part of the towns history from before the floods and showed how it has gone on to grow and become even stronger.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BizzyIssy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A beautiful Cornish village”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A charming Cornish village. How well they have recovered from the disaster of a few years back. The visitor centre showed a DVD of the disaster. I was so astounded at what nature can do. The flood was devastating, but fortunately causing no loss of life. There are no visible traces of the horror that befell this peaceful community so one is free to wander without problem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roadrocket1398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boscastle Visitors Centre also viewed

 

Been to Boscastle Visitors Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing