We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sails Cafe - CLOSED

Sails Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Highchairs Available
Description: Sold up and under new ownership under a new name, thank you to all our loyal customers for your custom.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stopped here twice: once for lunch, and once for a drink and a snack. The all day breakfasts are great if you want a fry up at whatever time. Staff are very friendly. Food is decent - all freshly prepared and home cooked - and reasonably priced. You can sit inside if you can find a table or outside when the weather's warm enough. There was also a regular take-away trade while we were there and we noticed that they were open from 9am to 9pm while we were out in the evening - although we went elsewhere at that time as we wanted a proper restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    38
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best cream tea ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

I may have had a few cream teas whilst in Cornwall and the one served in the Sails Cafe was the best. The scones were light, fluffy and warm.
The staff were very friendly and the tables were clean. it does get very busy inside so try and get a table outside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We ordered cod and chips at a quiet time of the evening. as it is a costal town we expected the fish to bed fresh...far from it, the chips and fish were awful and poor , we had to throw them away. worst fish supper we had ever had

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AnnieT1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sails-Cafe C, Manager at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I really am stunned. As you were staying very near by, why did you not approach either manager on duty and point out your disappointment? Tripadvisor should not be used as a replacement for speaking to staff about your meal. Just 2 reviews down is a rave about how wonderful our fish and chips is and how delighted the customers were with our food, drinks, service, cleanliness. Why would you throw aŵay a meal you had paid for rather than pop back in when it was quiet enough to speak to us???
Since you mention it, all our fish is battered fresh, chips prepped that day straight off the hill where they grew, doesn't get fresher than that! We have recently been told that our fish and chips are the best they have ever had, by more than one group of visitors so don't be out off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Level Contributor
272 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and buckets of fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Ok so it’s not the best looking place to eat in Boscastle, but the staff are super friendly and the food is more than acceptable. Sails offer a sit in or take away service and originally we were going to have a takeaway, but my daughter asked if we could sit in and we had no reason not to so we went in. The menu is pretty standard café/pub fare, but had more the enough choice for all four of us and what we had was very pleasant. Although we didn’t eat at Sails again that week, the children did have a couple of their buckets of fun. These are mini sandcastle buckets complete with min spade filled with scoops of ice cream, toppings and sauce. The kids loved them 

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoliteEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“More than just fish and chips...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

An early evening fish and chip supper sat outside was classic English holiday fare. But it was more than that. Yes the fish and chips were excellent, as good as any I have had before with melt in the mouth fresh fish, hand cut tasty chips and possibly the best mushy peas ever. But it was the service from the friendly smiling owner, the obvious enthusiasm of the waitress and the overall cleanliness of the place that impressed as well. You could even buy a beer or cider. We enjoyed a very pleasant hour or so here watching the world go by, and it was not that expensive. Recommended if you are in Boscastle and seeking quality food and service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails Cafe also viewed

 
Boscastle, Cornwall
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing