We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a Good Experience”
Review of Sails Cafe - CLOSED

Sails Cafe
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Sold up and under new ownership under a new name, thank you to all our loyal customers for your custom.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Overall a Good Experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First impressions weren't great - the lad at the till yelled 'customers!' when we entered, without acknowledging us and saying hello.
Having said that, the rest of our experience of Sails was a good one. Service with a smile from the man who did serve us, really nice chips (certainly nothing like the cheap and nasty ones you often get in cafes) and a decent pot of tea.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sails-Cafe C, Manager at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Ah yes, we have had a chat with our pot washer, he was trying to help, even if he did make us all jump calling for someone to help you. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your time here at Sails, thank you for leaving such great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    38
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great choice, great food - something for everyone!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We've visited Boscastle a couple of times but not tried Sails, we were not disappointed. Whatever you're looking for, whether it be a sandwich, fried breakfast, main meals, cakes, Sails will provide at great value prices. Chips are highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stirfry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sails-Cafe C, Owner at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are so glad that you all found something to enjoy, hope you had a safe journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cornish pastie paradise”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had my first genuine Cornish Pastie here, and it was amazing! If you are exploring the Boscastle area, I would totally recommend lunch at Sails Cafe

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sails-Cafe C, Owner at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello, thank you for leaving such a brilliant review, say hello to Oz for us won't you? Hope you enjoyed your trip to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best chips ever”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Boscastle, a friend recommended this cafe and so we tried it today. Staff were friendly and eager to please and the cafe was clean and fresh. We ordered pasties and chips that were served quickly. The food was excellent, especially the hand prepared chips. Overall first class value for money.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dsl966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sails-Cafe C, Owner at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we appreciate your comments, we love homemade chips too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A breath of fresh air!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a fabulous breakfast here in May. The guys here were so warm and friendly and very helpful; the place was imaculate and the food was delicious. Great value for money and even the children ate everything all up! After just having spent 2 weeks on a p&o cruise the food at Sails was even better and filled with LOVE!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sails-Cafe C, Owner at Sails Cafe, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are all grateful that you get it. Good to know all the hard work is worth it, hope you had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sails Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing