We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Pause and Recharge”

National Trust Cafe
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place to Pause and Recharge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We were on a long walk and stopped off at Boscastle. As always the town was busy but this café was not especially, it advertised an out-door area at the rear, food and drinks etc so we went in to recharge. The service was excellent and friendly, the place pleasant, the sandwiches, which were made to order, were very nice and good value. We will certainly revisit next time in Boscastle.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    69
    28
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great cafe in nice location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We visited on a very sunny afternoon after returning from Tintagel. It was very busy in Boscastle but the cafe was actually a bit quiet which meant we'd have chance of getting a seat. We weren't sure about the selection, mushroom soup and some of the sandwich choices didn't appeal. Therefore cream tea for 2 it was!

The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient, so much better than any other National trust cafe I've been too which usually involves a chaotic lunch service and lots of queuing. The clotted cream was properly refrigerated and the scones were fresh, couldn't have asked for a better cream tea! I don't mind a takeaway tea cup but tea is always better to drink tea out of china. National trust cafes are a little expensive but actually felt it wasn't bad considering the food and drinks were nice and the service was excellent.

We sat outside, where the staff brought out our warmed up scones. Nice little area to sit and people can bring their dogs too. It was a bit breezy though so we nearly lost our paper plates and serviettes a few times!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1066girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a cup of coffee.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Lovely place to have a cup of coffee ( and a bit of cake if you're so tempted). Nice little courtyard area, full of plants for sale, to sit in and enjoy the sunshine over a first class cup of coffee. Friendly staff added to the pleasure

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ianeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Boscastle "must visit"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Probably the nicest National Trust Cafe I've been to. Very nice, friendly & efficient staff, good quality food and drinks. Dog friendly. There is also a well stocked shop, together with an area showing video footage of the horrifying 2004 Boscastle flood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayelef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hurray for tea in a china cup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Popped in on Friday with my husband and dog, which we often do. We had a lovely cup of tea, I do agree with everyone is, it would have been nicer served as a pot of tea. I mentioned this to the young lady serving, Emma I think her name was and she poured me another tea in a china cup - thank you :o)))))

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Trust Cafe also viewed

Boscastle, Cornwall
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Been to National Trust Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing