We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeless and welcoming, the perfect base for exploring Cornwall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
Ranked #7 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Old Rectory is simply an idyllic place for starting your sightseeing around North Cornwall. The property has been in the family for generations and from the decor, clearly has many memories to share. A wonderful warm welcome from the Searle family with tea and homemade shortbread immediately puts you at ease. The house itself has beautiful comfy rooms with guidebooks and plenty of Hardy for vistors to enjoy, and is set in stunning gardens. All of the food is either home grown/reared or locally sourced and is delicious (I can really recommend the marmalade!)
The location is ideally suited for walking into picturesque Boscastle or travelling father afield, and Chris and Sally have great local knowledge of the area and are happy to share this with you.
I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KerryLJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

A wonderful and relaxing weekend. I can't rate The Old Rectory highly enough. A great location and friendly owners who know so much about the area. Lovely room and a breakfast to die for! Be back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

A warm welcome awaits you at The Rectory. Sally, Chris and Anna are the perfect hosts and from the start make you feel at home. We stayed in Emma's room which overlooked the beautiful garden. A delicious breakfast made with both their own and locally sourced produce. If you prefer the peace and quiet of the countryside as opposed to the town centre this is a great place to stay with wonderful walks nearby. Take a walk into Boscastle along the Valency River, stopping off at nearby St.Juliots Church.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernville160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A friend and I visited the Old Rectory in August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our rooms were attractive and comfortable and each had a nice en-suite. There was a jar of homemade shortbread on the desk and tea in the drawer. We had requested ahead of time to have dinner there the night we arrived. The food was cooked by Anna and was delicious!! Everything there is so fresh: vegetables and fruit are from the garden and it was all perfectly seasoned. Breakfast was served at the dining table and was generous and very tasty. Sally is a terrific hostess and we enjoyed visiting with the other guests. There are beautiful views from the hillside and the flower gardens were gorgeous. We loved the location, too. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladytraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Have visited the Old Rectory several times now and have already booked to return next year. The area is great for walking and the atmosphere in the Old Revtory is relaxed and friendly nothing is too much trouble and would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StevieGrimmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Couldn't wait to stay here after looking online at http://www.stjuliot.com/ and it was all we hoped it would be. Excellent locally sourced / home grown breakfasts which set us up to explore the local area in Boscastle and north Cornwall - Tintagel, Padstow etc. which are not too far away. Rooms are very comfortable and in keeping with the period of the house, the walled garden and animals add to its overall charm. Sally & Chris are very helpful and offer friendly advice about the local area which is very handy if the British weather gets in the way of your plans.

Room Tip: We stayed in Mr Hardy's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnM40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed here some time ago with my teenage son and never got around to writing a review at the time, so am making up for it now. I had always wanted to stay at the Old Rectory because of the Thomas Hardy association, and was delighted that its present owners had done nothing either to try to commercialize or to obscure that association -- it was there for those who had a Hardy interest but not presumed upon to catch tourist attention (in fact some of the crasser exercises in marketing literary or historical associations now practised by the National Trust could learn a thing or two from the low key good taste with which the Hardy connection is handled here). The area could not be more attractive. The house is,sufficiently off the tourist track -- a pleasant walk up the Valency Valley from often tourist-crowded Boscastle -- to be peaceful but sufficiently close to the spectacular cliff walks to be convenient. The accommodation is comfortable, the breakfasts excellent, the owners welcoming and helpful -- in short, it's an ideal place for a relaxed stay in one of the most beautiful parts of England. I would particularly recommend it to couples wanting to get away for a few days -- and obviously for anyone who does have an interest in the Hardy association both house and area couldn't be more evocative.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel1000Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
1.6 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
505 reviews
4.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
58 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#3 of 16 in Boscastle
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory St. Juliot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory St. Juliot

Address: St Juliot, Boscastle PL35 0BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range: $91 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory St. Juliot 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory is in a quiet and secluded area offering four luxurious en-suite rooms in a historic house with Thomas Hardy connections close to the picturesque village of Boscastle. We are surrounded by 3 acres of our mature gardens including a productive walled Victorian kitchen garden, producing fruit and vegetables for breakfast and evening meals (by arrangement). Guests can enjoy our viewing deck over looking the sea and Valency Valley. Hardy wrote he left with "Magic in his eyes" and we hope you will do the same! Dog allowed in The Old Stable Room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory St. Juliot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory St. Juliot Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing