We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Heather and John made us feel really welcome and provided a beautiful bedroom (the Crow's Nest) with a separate large bathroom - including shower, bath and even a bidet. The bed was large and very comfortable. Our breakfast was more than adequate, with the addition of hog's pudding.There was also an inviting sitting room with an honesty bar. We ate our evening meal in the Napoleon next door, as the village is a steep walk away. We certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Crow's Nest is beautiful, but 2 flights of stairs, the 2nd being quite steep. Low beams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annejo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are really happy to read your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Crow's Nest is a beautiful bedroom. We hope to see you again. With kind regards, Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    37
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
108
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

(although people who know me might think that was a positive insult...) We've just got back from a wonderful stay in beautiful Boscastle; I knew I was in for a treat as my OH has stayed at the Bottreaux several times and loves it. We had a lovely warm welcome from Heather, I felt like I'd known her for years instead of a couple of minutes. The Crow's Nest room has a lovely big bathroom (with a bidet!), all tiled and spotlessly clean, and the largest bed in the known universe, slept like a log every night on the comfiest mattress I've come across so far. The room is beautifully decorated with everything you'd expect from a top notch establishment. The sitting room is cosy, there's a well-stocked bar, the dining room is large, light and nicely decorated. Breakfasts were excellent, cooked to order with a choice of smoked salmon or mushrooms on toast, as well as everything else on the breakfast menu, efficiently served up by Leah who made sure we had everything we wanted. We had a great time, Boscastle is magnificent, we had good weather but it wouldn't have mattered much if we hadn't...staying at the Bottreaux made the visit even better. A lovely peaceful place to recharge the batteries (and the pubs are excellent too!) Thank you very much, Heather, John and the team, we'll definitely be back. Soon, I hope.

Room Tip: They're all lovely, take your pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. it is very much appreciated to know our efforts are noticed.Looking forward to seeing you both again soon. Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

............we don't want everyone knowing about this gem of a place !

We've just had our 4th stay at the Bottreaux and no wonder why. It's cosy and welcoming, the decor is tasteful throughout, the bedrooms are great and the breakfast superb. Top that off with Heather and the staff's warm, friendly manner and what more can you want.

Love it - we'll be back for more !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonenlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It is always lovely to have returning guests visit us. We certainly hope to see you again in 2014. Kind regards Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights staying here back in June and had a wonderful time, we had the Crows Nest room and the views were great over the valley, our only very small criticism of this room was no blind in the bathroom and window was not frosted, easily fixed by putting hand towel over window while showering.
Heather and John were great hosts and spent time telling us about the area and things to see and do. Breakfasts were great and freshly cooked to order.
We ate in the evenings down in the main town at the Riverside which was very good, the only downside was the steep walk back up the hill afterwards. on our last night the weather was terrible so we popped next door to the Napoleon which was equally good with a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us it is most appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope you return in the future. I have taken note of your comment about the bathroom window not being frosted or a blind but with it being so high up we have never realised that it may be a problem for some of our guests so we will remedy that very soon for anyone who is not absolutely happy. Many thanks Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

For the second year running, myself and my fiance, had a exellent stay at the bottreaux , the food, service, was great, the room was really comfortable with great views, parking is no problem, and it's in the old part of boscastle, set in a great atmosphere. I strongley reccomend it!.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us it is most appreciated. It is so lovely for us when guests enjoy being here and then they return again. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We always love to spend time in Cornwall and we compared prices in the area and found Bottreaux to have an excellent deal of 3 nights for 2.

We had the "Crows Nest" which was incredibly clean and comfortable, not to mention that absolutely massive and extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean and very large and we wanted for nothing. It was a little bit of luxury.

Heather was always available and we were free to come and go as we had a key to the front door. Heather even photocopied a page from one of their recommended walks guide. She was a great host, very warm and inviting.

Breakfast was very nice and always tasted good. Hot toast is a perk you don't often get in a B&B.

I will be recommending Bottreaux to everyone I know, excellent accommodation.

Room Tip: "Crows Nest" and excellent room, very quiet and ample space (super kingsize bed), lovely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareWestoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us it is most appreciated. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a weekend break, and cannot find any fault with this excellent guest house. The rooms were clean and tidy and beds very comfortable (As I am 6ft 5 tall this isn't always the case ). Hosts Heather & John were very friendly and attentive,The choice and quality of the breakfast were also very good. The lounge bar and rest areas were great for chilling out and relaxing after a long day sightseeing. There was also plenty of information on things to do and places to visit, and Heather was always happy to answer any questions or queries we might have. I would return, and am happy to recommend the Bottreaux to anyone visiting this part of the Country.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us it is most appreciated. It was lovely to have you and your group of friends here for the weekend. Hoping to see you all in the near future. Kind regards Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
459 reviews
3.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,222 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#11 of 16 in Boscastle
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Service Station Camelford Road, Boscastle PL35 0BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 200 year old building is situated within a ten minute walk through quaint cottages to the famous Elizabethan harbour. Boscastle is situated on the glorious coastline of North Cornwall and offers guests an unrivaled base to explore the very beautiful scenery and places of interest. Every bedroom is en-suite and each one is decorated individually with white linen, colour coordinated accessories and the mattresses are of the best quality. Our lounge is spacious with deep leather sofas and chairs in which to relax. Breakfast - We pride ourselves in serving delicious choices from our extensive menu offering either full English breakfast or a lighter meal, for example Smoked Salmon on scrambled free range eggs plus vegetarian options. We have a private car park for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bottreaux Hotel Boscastle
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing