We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Recommended”
Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

A good place to stay. Very welcoming, very clean and warm. Breakfasts are good and plentiful with a veggie option and all of the people working here are very helpful. And they have a very good deal on at the moment which makes it an even better place to stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay here at The Bottreaux. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. With kind regards, Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    38
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
114
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2011

we stayed for 3 nights and it was brilliant from beginning to end, the welcome from Heather, the accomodation and the breakfasts were something else, a varied menu and a vegetarian option if you wanted. Boscastle, a short walk away very pleasant lovely pub grub.
Take a stroll down Fore Road and look out for the site of Bos Casle....happy hunting.
We only wish this idylic place 'The Bottreaux' was much much nearer than 350 miles away from us in Blackpool...love to all at the 'B' see you soon
Anne and Stephen

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

A lovely little gem. The owner Heather is very sweet and nothing is too much trouble.
Breakfasts are delicious and includes a vegetarian option. My room was very clean and snug
Close by is the ancient church called the Minster and 10 mins walk and you are in Bostcastle
harbour. Only snag with the area is that public transport is not as good as west cornwall and last bus is just after 6

Room Tip: I had a twin room as i prefer a bath to shower and Hether was kind enough to offer me a rooom lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
We appreciate your comments and thank you for staying with us.

Boscastle is a truly lovely area with Minster Church close by as you say which is well worth a visit and a walk around the woodland.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed for one night. The welcome was good and we were given all necessary information. The restaurant was closed when we went but it is only about a ten minute very pleasant walk into Boscastle where there is a good selection of restaurants, pubs etc. The village is well worth exploring and there are some good nearby walks. Also a visit to Tintagel is a must. Our room (Forrabury) was spotlessly clean with lovely views of the sea althougha bit small if you were staying for any length of time. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainmoosehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor about your stay here at The Bottreaux Guest Accommodation. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

With kind regards
Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I booked this B&B for our 3 night trip to Cornwall also taking advantage of the 3 for 2 offer. We had the Crow's Nest which was a lovely room with distant sea views and a separate bathroom. The B&B was perfectly located for accessing the village and walking back up the hill helped work off the meals from the local restaurants. Heather and her daughter were friendly and welcoming and provided us with good advice on local attractions and opening times. Highly recommend this B&B for a stay in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Many thanks for your review and kind comments. We continue to work hard to ensure our guest accommodation is comfortable and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I had stayed at The Bottreaux previously for one night in Apr 10 and found it to be a comfortable, good value hotel where an excellent breakfast is offered. I should also mention the warm welcome and the superb service.

On this basis, I decided to stay again ,this time with my wife, on a three night short break, taking advantage of the '3 nights for 2' offer and choosing the deluxe 'Crow's Nest' room.

I have to say that we were not disappointed.

If you are looking to spend some time in North Cornwall and need somewhere to stay, then this hotel offers a very good value for money package. The hosts are very friendly and offer a very high standard of service.

Oh and did I mention the freshly prepared 'full English' breakfast. One of the best that I have experienced in a hotel.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for visiting us again and for writing a review on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your comments and are pleased you visited The Bottreaux with your wife. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We were given a very warm welcome when we stayed at the bottreaux for 3 nights. We had booked 4 rooms for our family members who were attending a wedding. All of the rooms we stayed in were lovely & clean & the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was very very good with an excellent variety to choose from, Heather, Nicola & the rest of the staff were very helpful on the morning of the wedding by doing breakfast for us earlier than usual so we could get ready in time, which we all appreciated. We had a look at a 5 star hotel room in Boscastle but can honestly say the rooms at the bottreaux were far superior! The bottreaux is excellent value for money & I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone although please note, it doesn't allow children under 12.

Room Tip: Crows nest room is lovely with a large bed & separate bath & shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abb2325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We enjoyed having you all here at The Bottreaux and certainly hope to see you again. Thank you for your positive reviews which will be passed onto all members of staff.

Kind regards
Heather Graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
3.0 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,253 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
468 reviews
3.5 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
23 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caroe Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
Address: Service Station Camelford Road, Boscastle PL35 0BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 200 year old building is situated within a ten minute walk through quaint cottages to the famous Elizabethan harbour. Boscastle is situated on the glorious coastline of North Cornwall and offers guests an unrivaled base to explore the very beautiful scenery and places of interest. Every bedroom is en-suite and each one is decorated individually with white linen, colour coordinated accessories and the mattresses are of the best quality. Our lounge is spacious with deep leather sofas and chairs in which to relax. Breakfast - We pride ourselves in serving delicious choices from our extensive menu offering either full English breakfast or a lighter meal, for example Smoked Salmon on scrambled free range eggs plus vegetarian options. We have a private car park for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bottreaux Hotel Boscastle
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing