We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here before, will be back if we can to say hello to Heather and Nic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Unfortunately there was no evening meal but the Leopard next door filled the purpose.
Quality of service is as good as the previous times we have stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesmacf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us it is most appreciated. We do apologise for our evening restaurant to be closed now and for the foreseeable future. There are plenty of places to eat in the local vacinity to which we are happy to reserve tables at for our guests if they request us to do so with a place of their choice. We do look forward to seeing you again here in the future and hope you enjoy your stay with us again. Kind regards Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 190 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our stay at the Bottreaux was wonderful, and the staff was warm, efficient, and helpful. We stayed in the Crow's Nest, which offers a distant but welcome view of the sea as well as some of the surrounding countryside, such as pastures complete with grazing cattle. Boscastle is a quaint, picturesque village, and we thoroughly enjoyed our steep walks down the hill from the hotel into the town. The street is lined with charming cottages, each given its own distinct name, and almost all are surrounded by flowers. What we saw of the Bottreaux was also full of character; the dining room was lovely, and the Crow's Nest was cozy and architecturally interesting. The en suite bathroom was comfortably large, clean, and well maintained. We also had plenty of space to store our belongings, which was especially nice, since we stayed for six nights. The on-site complementary parking is definitely a plus as well. Boscastle serves as a good site to launch a walk on the coastal path or to take day trips elsewhere in Cornwall or into Devon. Our stay at the Bottreaux was definitely the highlight of our trip. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humblerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Many thanks for your review.
I have ensured our members of staff have read your review as we operate here in a team and are all genuinely pleased you had such a pleasant stay.
We do hope to see you again here at The Bottreaux.

Kind regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

On arrival we didnt feel very welcome and was straight away handed a form to fill out, lacked a warm welcome. Nice clean room and a good breakfast. However, the restaurant next door was very noisey til late at night and the veiw from our room was facing onto the street. I dont think it was worth the £100 a night they charged for my mum and I.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

May we thank you for taking time to write a review for us on Trip Advisor.
Our sincere apologies if you felt you did not receive a warm welcome on arrival. We pride ourselves in greeting all our guests and friends with warmth, being helpful and polite at all times.

The price for your room was quoted and agreed upon when you rang to enquire, but we are sorry you were disappointed. We feel all our rooms are of high standard. We do offer a very competitive 3 nights for the price of 2 offer throughout the year. We hope if you do wish to stay with us again you will take up our promotional offer and enjoy your stay with us.

Kind regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We visited the Bottreaux for one night during a romantic weekend away in Cornwall.
We were perfectly satisfied with the accommodation and the service. The room was clean and light and airy. The bed was comfy. The service was friendly. The breakfast was fine. The pub next door was fun and tasty for an alternative to the more formal meal on offer in the evening here.
I think this is the sort of place where most people would be happy with their stay although they would not be totally awe-inspired by it. The price was a little bit steep in those circs however.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

We would like to thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again sometime, whether it be just a one night stay again or a longer weekend.
Thank you for staying with us.
Kind regards
Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We visited The Bottreaux for our first anniversary and absolutely loved it. Heather and Nicola and the owner were all on site, extremely hospitable and ever so friendly! Breakfast is amazing - it really is, its prompt, you have you own table reserved and it is just brilliant. We stayed in the Crow's Nest and the bathroom is absolutely to die for! Gorgeous! On a clear day the views are incredible.

We loved The Bottreaux and can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EimanA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherTheBottreaux, Manager at Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2011

Thank you for posting a review for us on Trip Advisor. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Bottreaux. Hope to see you in the future. Kind regards Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Very enjoyable short stay. Would recommend both the hotel and Boscastle.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertxuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

A few days break inbetween contracts, I scanned the net for a decent singleton deal. As so many hotels and B&B's charge a single person supplement, I was very happy to find the Bottreaux didn't and that the 3 for 2 nights deal made it an excellent value stay. The website appealed so called to book - all very simple to do and friendly staff. It certainly met and surpassed my expectations. I stayed in the Castle room at the front which was lovely. The bed was super comfy and in the mornings I could make a cuppa and sit in bed and see the sea! It was spotlessly clean, very warm and plenty of space. Staff were very nice and welcoming and breakfast was delicious. Would heartily recommend and will stay again. Many thanks all for a lovely time :-)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyBCrowthorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
3 mi away
The Avalon
The Avalon
#6 of 24 in Tintagel
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
32 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Service Station Camelford Road, Boscastle PL35 0BG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Hotel Class:4 star — Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely 200 year old building is situated within a ten minute walk through quaint cottages to the famous Elizabethan harbour. Boscastle is situated on the glorious coastline of North Cornwall and offers guests an unrivaled base to explore the very beautiful scenery and places of interest. Every bedroom is en-suite and each one is decorated individually with white linen, colour coordinated accessories and the mattresses are of the best quality. Our lounge is spacious with deep leather sofas and chairs in which to relax. Breakfast - We pride ourselves in serving delicious choices from our extensive menu offering either full English breakfast or a lighter meal, for example Smoked Salmon on scrambled free range eggs plus vegetarian options. We have a private car park for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bottreaux Hotel Boscastle
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing