We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the best”

The Long Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 17 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Overlooking the harbour in the Cornish fishing village of Boscastle and surrounded by the beautiful North Cornwall coastline, the Wellington Hotel has been providing a warm welcome to its guests for many years. It is one of Cornwall’s oldest Coaching Inns and dates back to the 16th Century. Awarded 2 AA Rosettes and using local seasonal produce, The Long Bar and Restaurant offers modern British cuisine in a classic yet relaxed setting.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the best”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Having experienced some pretty ordinary meals, it was an absolute delight to taste the creations of the excellent chef at the hotel. We were sorry we were only there for two nights, would have like to try more of the dishes on the menu....the risotto was unbelievable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    39
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food! No atmosphere”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This is located in the Wellington Hotel, upstairs and is in a very pretty newly redecorated room. We arrived at 19:00 and had drinks on the sofas before going to our table, the waiter was okay, he stomped around, in and out of the room, he didn't ask if we wanted another drink the entire time or fill up our drinks for us. The food was great, really interesting and beautiful presentation but the atmosphere was non existent! The waiter didn't create a comfortable, relaxed ambiance, it felt awkward and uncomfortable and even after we left I couldn't work out why I was annoyed! The food is a reasonable price but they really need to work on creating a more enjoyable experience and maybe they would tract more patrons.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nayzbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
518 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Lunch stop whilst passing through.”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We have stopped here in previous years and as we passing through again today, thought we would check it was still as good. It was. There was plenty of choice for my vegetarian friend. We both chose salads and very fresh they were too. The pints were well kept and the staff friendly. Well worth stopping if you are passing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent bar food”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised, the bar food is outstanding. We returned the next evening which was just as good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank randjcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodnewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meal out”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

For such a large Hotel we did expect a good meal BUT we waited quite a while and when our Wellington burgers arrived we were not impressed.There was a garlic mayo in a dish that was so powerful we did not use it.The chips in a mini fryer were soggy and not cooked to a brown finish and the burger although homemade was not a good as my husbands. Over priced. Lets hope we just had an off day but will not visit again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Su W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSWellington, Owner at The Long Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and we are very sorry that your experience was not as you had expected. Hopefully, you will have seen from other reviews that the quality of our food is very important to us and I have, of course, discussed your comments with our Chef. I imagine that you ate with us on the Thursday before the Easter weekend in The Long Bar, where we serve The Wellington Burger, rather than the Waterloo Restaurant. If so, you are correct that the service in the bar was delayed for a short while. We had a significant number of walk-in diners all around the same time and, as all our food is freshly cooked, this put temporary pressure on the kitchen. The short delay should have been communicated to you but I apologise if this did not happen. We would love to see you return again and I am certain that we will provide the level of service that you expect - perhaps you could even try the Restaurant next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Long Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Been to The Long Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing