We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of YHA Boscastle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Boscastle
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's a pity but I only had a one night stay here. I arrived after dark, so found it a little hard to find, so if you plan to arrive after dark, check the map carefully! The hostel has excellent facilites, the self catering kitchen is great. The whole hostel was very clean, and the room I stayed in was very spacious, with great views. It was also excellent value for money. I hope to stay again (out of season) to enjoy the great walks and sceneary without the crowds. A massive thumbs up goes YHA Bostcastle's way. i also noticed that you can hire the whole hostel rather cheaply - great for a group get away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silly_Auntie_Amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
12
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

High quality refurbishment after 2004 floods. Toilets and showers excellent. Very clean throughout. Dormitory storage space is limited but it is a hostel and you should expect that! We were well looked after by helpful staff. Secure spacious bike store. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What an amazing location! Some twin rooms available which is good. Very clean & the facilities are excellent. Lovely walks along this part of the coastline. Friendly staff. Cannot wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esperanto-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hostel is very well maintained; facilities are good; kitchen extremely well equiped and really clean as were the -shared- showers and toilet; staff very friendly and helpfull...location...picturesque with good opportunities for walking as it's practically next to the Cornwall Coast Path (Bude to Tintagel).
We stayed in a (6 bed dorm) that was quite spacious and therefor sleeping quality was oke even though all the beds were occupied.
There is a sitting room, so if you're into it then there's plenty of opportunity for conversation with other guests.
Really enjoyed our stay!

Very nice coffees - and wifi- in the boscastle visitor centre next door, where there is also plenty of information on activities available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sterres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Boscastle YHA is in a unique location and is a lovely place to stay. It is very clean, facilities are excellent and the staff are friendly.

There is no parking - however you can drive down to unload your car and the main car park (5 mins walk) is free overnight (during the day you can find free on street parking if you are prepared to put in a little effort).

Perfect base for walking as the South West Coast Path passes the hostel and there are local buses so you can easily do some walk - bus day trips.

The hostel has a great kitchen and dining / sitting area. Bathrooms are clean and the bedrooms have lockers (bring a padlock if you want to leave your valuables). There is also a drying room.

Boscastle is a fascinating place to visit and the YHA hostel is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChickChack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed for one night in room 4 which had 6 single beds with a sink and small individual cupboard lockers. It was a quiet period and I was lucky enough to have the whole room to myself! There were a couple of self contained individual shower rooms with a sink and toilet included just outside along the corridor and a well equipped kitchen and comfy lounge area downstairs.
The hostel was of a high standard, light and airy, and extremely clean. It was lovely to be able to fall asleep to the sound of water flowing through the natural harbour directly alongside the building.
The hostel is directly on the coastal path, and the next day I walked to Tintagel and caught the bus back. This walk is one of my favourites on the South West coast path.
If you get a chance to stay here - go for it. There are plenty of places to eat and drink in Boscastle and the whole place has a unique atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owlAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This YHA property is right at the edge of the harbour in Boscastle. Much of the village is now owned by the National Trust and the hostel was once stabling for the horses used to haul cargo from the harbour up to the town. I stayed here shortly before the great flood of 2004 and I believe the facilities have been updated since then, but the shared kitchen, dining and lounge facilities were more than adequate, and the beds comfortable.

I loved the quaintness, history and the location of the building, my room was virtually right over the harbour at high tide, and the village shops were just a short walk away.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
3.8 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#4 of 37 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
18.3 mi away
YHA Treyarnon
YHA Treyarnon
#3 of 12 in St Merryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Boscastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Boscastle

Property: YHA Boscastle
Address: Palace Stables The Harbour | Access via B3263 Tintagel to Bude road. Walk from Bridge on the B3263 towards harbour alongside River. Hostel is last building on right at top of slipway., Boscastle PL35 0HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Boscastle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely spot in a steep-sided valley on the rugged north Cornwall coast, this National Trust-owned rural retreat is on the harbour edge. Here, on your Cornish coast break, you can sit and watch this pretty, bustling fishing village come to life during the day and return to a sleepier pace in the evenings. For a more energetic activity break, you’ll also find excellent surfing and sailing plus miles of coastal footpaths to explore - great for walking holidays. It's self-catering only here, but you can get to know the locals in the nearby pubs while sampling some tasty Cornish food and local ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your YHA Boscastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Boscastle Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing