We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
Review of The Napoleon Inn

The Napoleon Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Ruemligen, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Our favourite in town. Nice beers, good choice of food, nice and quick service, nice atmosphere in this very old house.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garfield3128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    204
    29
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

It was nice to have a meal in this pub without the incessant noise and visual pollution of game machines. It was a delicious meal, with great service and lovely surroundings. The pub became packed as we finished our meal and we both commented on how well used by locals it was, and how comfy it seemed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still a Favourite”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have been visiting The Napoleon regularly over a number of years, staying at a friends house in Boscastle. We haven't been for about 3 years now & were a little concerned as other friends had not had the best experience on a recent visit. we needn't have worried ........ the beer is still good & the traditional [& not so traditional] food was still doing the job. On this occasion 3 of the 4 of us chose the lamb curry, which was very good & plentiful with just enough kick & the vegetable stir fry I'm told was excellent. We went on a Tuesday night when the Boscastle Buoys were performing .... similar to Port Isaacs more famous [Cornish & Sea Shanty] singers ...... great fun. A small tip do not book in the restaurant but ask for a table in the bar [better to local watch & more atmosphere ......... but be sure to book , The Nap gets very bust at times. If you happen to be parked down in the Harbour .... be prepared for a long, steep walk ........ The pint of decent ale at the end makes it worthwhile

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmiddleditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely food great value”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Called in here after looking at two other pubs in Boscastle after seeing it on the way in.most of the pubs in the area you find a table grab it then up to the bar to order,surprisingly when we checked it was table service.very pleasant staff took the order even helped move us to a bigger table as it was busy we took a little table.The staff were busy with the evening rush still the food came hot and obviously fresh.even when it came to a drinks order he apologised for the wait due to a barrel needed changing so that the other half could have his drink.Another couple sat in the area by us even inquired about a table for the following evening.altogether lovely food good service and good value definitely reccomend it.music too in the evenings.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank evedallas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Snashing pub food in beautiful setting”
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

First visited for breakfast on New Years Day 2014, during a Cornish mini break, and whenI returned to Boscastle for summer hols I headed straight for the Napoleon for a very decent bit of nosh. Menu is good, and specials tend to be excellent. The burgers simply melt in the mouth - a must have if you're around for a few visits. The pub itself is also very friendly, and much enjoyed in summer as well as winter. Great spot to try out.

Helpful?
Thank Dynotious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Napoleon Inn also viewed

 
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Been to The Napoleon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing