We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Coach House is the BEST!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Coach House
Ranked #1 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Coach House is the BEST!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Just returned from a tour of UK and can't say enough good things about The Old Coach House in Boscastle!! We spent two wonderful nights with Jackie and Geoff while we toured Tintagel and would highly recommend it to anyone! Coming from the US we were tentative about booking online without any prior knowledge.. but let it be known that Old Coach House is top notch! We were warmly greeted with a delicious tea upon our arrival, the rooms are beautifully appointed, immaculately clean and the warm inviting fire in the living room gave us the most peaceful evenings ever! Can't say enough about the delicious breakfast - made to order and the absolutely delightful company! Thanks Jackie and Geoff we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Penally Room and the Forrabury Room - used Pennaly as two singles. Worked really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
104
202
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed in Boscastle on our honeymoon in April. The Coach House was fantastic - we received home made sponge cake and tea on arrival, and a great choice of breakfast. We went to the pub for tea, ended up singing with the local men's singing group until 2am. An authentic Cornish experience.. A great night, great place, great people and highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I can only echo what has been said before. The location allows easy access to multiple directions, the main part of the village is at the bottom of the hill, but with the walk so thoroughly enjoyable, that was not a problem. We had a fantastic room, went through the entire selection of breakfasts, and there was great camaraderie amongst the guests.
Choose to stay here, it's one of life's easier decisions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Home away from after just once stay. Jackie and Geoff are the perfect Host and Hostess with their cozy rooms, superb breakfasts and their warm welcome. Rooms are perfect. The B@b is up on the hill above Boscastle Village. There are 4 lanes to stroll down into the Harbor itself. There is a lovely garden to relax in and Jackie will makes dinner reservations for you at The Napolean or the Wellington. Hopefully I will have my fourth visit there next yr. and I cannot wait.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early because this B@B is perfect and very popular. Plus I insist on keeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty3812013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our first visit to The Old Coach House and how glad we are to have found it! This B&B must rank up among the best in the county, if not the country, that`s how good it is.
We read earlier reviews on this site and all we can do is endorse all the good, positive comments that have been made previously. From the welcome to departure we received nothing but genuine, warm hospitality from Jackie and Geoff.
After a 6 hour journey the cream tea in the garden was a wonderful start to a marvellous week and the breakfasts are a real treat - we didn`t want any more food until evening meal, that`s how filling they are.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and there is everything there that will be found in large chain hotels so that we wanted for nothing. A nice touch is the mini fridge in the hall where water and soft drinks are available.
What we did appreciate was the fact that every morning Jackie found time to go round all her guests for a little chat, just an example of the individual approach she gives to everyone.
Thanks ever so much Jackie and Geoff, we had such a wonderful week with you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
227 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

How do you go about creating the top Bed & Breakfast in a quaint little village like Boscastle?
Make sure that the rooms are well appointed and spotless, that the beds are comfortable and that the decor is fresh and bright. The breakfasts must offer plenty of choice and be freshly cooked to order.
Above all, the welcome must be friendly and the hosts be willing to provide useful information on the local area.
That's what Jackie and Geoff have done and not surprisingly, that's why they run one of the best, if not THE best B & B in Boscastle.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Photopedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our second visit this year and we had a great time. Nothing is too much trouble for Jackie, Geoff and their staff, definitely service with a smile. Jackie summed it up perfectly when she said 'we service the rooms daily because this is your holiday'.

We stayed in the ground floor twin room this time and I was very impressed with the space, furnishings and the wet room. The welcome on arrival was just as we remembered from previous visits, lovely to have scones and clotted cream.

Breakfast was as great as ever, plenty of choice and personal service. Nothing is ever too much trouble.

Many thanks to Jackie, Geoff and everyone at the Old Coach House. We'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.4 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.9 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#3 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Parsonage
The Old Parsonage
#7 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Coach House

Property: The Old Coach House
Address: Tintagel Road, Boscastle PL35 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Coach House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Coach House is a 350 year old former Coach House & Stables, refurbished to a high standard. All rooms have en-suite facilities. We have our own car park. Breakfast is served in a large conservatory, which overlooks the garden and towards the coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Coach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Coach House Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing