We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average...at best”

The Old Manor House
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pretty average...at best”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had an evening meal. Not much atmosphere in the ugly modern interior but the the staff were friendly and efficient. I had onion soup to start which was terrible, it was like a bowl of mustard with onions in it. I then had rump steak which was cooked okay but had no flavour, clearly just chucked onto the grill without bothering to marinade or season. My wife had the pollock which she said was very good. Didn't fancy the desserts as they looked like they had been spinning in the display case all day. Not the worst but won't be hurrying back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EricPDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    58
    28
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good meal”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arriving in Boscastle late for an evening meal we decided to try The Old Manor House. Dogs are welcome in the garden. We ordered and were told there would be a little wait. When the food arrived it was tasty, well cooked and we enjoyed it. Don't expect fine dining, it is what it is, and they have a take away option too. A little pricey but the drinks were good and the service was friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst food in cornwall”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Roast beef was terrible - potatoes and parsnip definitely been in a fat fryer. Yorkshire pudding shattered when cut. Crab sandwich £7.50 !!!! Thin cut brown bread and a tiny smothering of crab -side of chips were over cooked and oily. Hate sachets of cheap ketchup. Lovely pub but need to sort your food out !!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The restaurant's name is a bit misleading because inside the decor is very contemporary, with clean lines, glass table tops etc. We found the food and service excellent. A good idea to book because it's pretty popular - an indication of its quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiantibeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at boscastle most places were full so we gave The old Manor a chance we had good service and good value for money Sunday lunch. Will go again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivienne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Manor House also viewed

Boscastle, Cornwall
Boscastle, Cornwall
 
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing