We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sarah H”

The Old Manor House
Ranked #10 of 18 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lambourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sarah H”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Whenever I go to Boscastle I always have at least one meal here if not more. The food is very good and the staff provide an excellent service. I would highly recomend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    53
    26
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, and service, complete package!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food was tasty, venue was clean and well presented, staff were polite and excellent at their job... so good we ate in twice and ordered a take away. Highly recomended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A triumph of substance over style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by Pencarmol B&B where we stayed recently. We have been to Boscastle several times in past years however we had always overlooked the Old Manor House as it gave the appearance of a daytime cafe. In the end we ate there for three nights of our week stay.

On the downside the interior could do with an injection of style. However it was clean and tidy and certainly not scruffy or run-down.

The service was faultless on every occasion despite it being very busy on one evening. Staff were polite and friendly. We ate a variety of cooked meals, each one coming with plenty of vegetables. A notable dish was the Lamb Shank. Prices were reasonable. Fair selection of beers and wines.

We would recommend this establishment and would eat there again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MeandMrsJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good like fine woman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I arrive to beauty that is jenny, most lovely girl. sit to meal brought with smile and joy.
all looks on plate is tasty and pretty like jenny.

Next time i bring mama to enjoy same as i and hope to meet again young fire hair cook lee.

gratzi

luigi

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luigi_demayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book etc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

although we have been to Boscastle many times we have never eaten here simply because the decor seems very dated and the restaurant lacking in atmosphere. However, thanks to a recommendation about the fish and chips from a local couple we decided to give it a try and we are so glad we did. Really brilliant, fresh, juicy and crispy battered fish for a very reasonable price. Our little boy had the chicken nuggets which again were fresh, excellent quality and delicious. Good enough for grown ups! The waiter was so helpful and friendly and described the sourcing of the fish and meat for us. I just wish the food was served in a restaurant with decor to match the quality of the food. Having said that the garden is a pleasant enough spot to dine in weather permitting!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantelle1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Manor House also viewed

Boscastle, Cornwall
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing