We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Valency B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boscastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valency B&B
Ranked #10 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna,BC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopper in and Denise and John where very nice people helpful on the area. We stayed in the little yellow addition that was perfect. The grounds are charming. We walked all over Boscastle from the B&B and had a wonderful day. Breakfast was great and we enjoyed our stay. Its funny we have travelled all over the world and have millions of photos and the one on the mantel is of my husband and myself in Boscastle standing on the huge rock cliffs over looking the Bude Bay.
Definitely recommended !! Thanks Denise and John

Room Tip: Stay in the yellow addition loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaTraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
107
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Valency is well located and although we have stayed in Boscastle previously we wish we had found this little gem earlier.
Denise and John's fantastic hospitality was apparent from the minute we arrived and was ever present for the length of our stay. The cosiness of the Valency coupled with the owner's friendliness gave us the clear message that we were guests in their home and that's something that is unfortunately lacking in even good quality hotels.
John's breakfasts are a meal to savour and nothing is too much trouble and make sure you have one of Denise's gorgeous home made cream teas.
We were in the four poster room which we found light, airy and above all very comfortable.
The fact there is on plot car parking is an advantage but there are so many other selling points on offer from Valency that if there was none I wouldn't be put off.
Needless to say we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aswanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our second stay in Valency B&B. After 3 Years we came back again to Devon/Cornwall and one thing for sure Valency is worth to come back again. It has such a nice ambient charme and beautiful atmosphere. The friendly Owners Denise and John are always very helpful and committed. The Room was very clean and well-kept. Breakfast was always delicious and thus there were only two rooms and the studio it's always a calm and comfortable athmosphere. Thank you very much Denise and John! Hope we will be back at some time again. Greetings from Switzerland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeocacherCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I love Boscastle itself having visited several times but never stayed in the town. What a find this B&B was, literally a 2 minute walk from the harbour, across the road from the Cobweb Inn, and with parking too! We stayed for 3 nights in the four poster room which was clean, bright, airy and comfortable, the breakfast was both comprehensive and delicious with locally sourced ingredients where possible. The welcome from John and Denise was warm and friendly and you get the feeling it really matters to them that their guests have a lovely time. We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had a great time visiting Boscastle. Beautiful area and enjoyed it very much. This was made better by staying at the Valency as Denise and John were very knowledgeable and made us feel extremely welcome. A delightful place to stay.

P.S. You must have the cooked breakfast as it is absolutle fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philgosnay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

we stayed in the studio accomadation and we could not fault it more than worth the money clean tidy and like a home from home which is what denice and john made both it and us feel like .what a lovely couple we can see why they only get top grades on this site one of the best places we have ever stayed at and some of the nicest people we have ever met thank you denice and john we only get one holiday a year and you made it very special

david and brenda

Room Tip: we only stayed in the studio flat so have no idea about all the other rooms but i supect they would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davebolton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

John & Denise were very welcoming and made the stay very relaxing and the room was perfect.. It was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. John made the best breakfast that I have ever had and everything was so clean and tidy. Well worth a stay and very good value and would stay again without hesitation. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
0.2 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tregatherall Lodge
Tregatherall Lodge
#9 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lower Meadows House
Lower Meadows House
#5 of 16 in Boscastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valency B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valency B&B

Property: Valency B&B
Address: Valency Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely eighteenth-century home, central to beautiful Boscastle, Area of Outstanding National Beauty. Stroll to the famous Harbour, scenic old village, Valency Valley or dramatic coast path. Excellent base for the West Country with Moorlands, Gardens, Heritage sites, Galleries, Rivers and Beaches all within easy reach. Choose a local restaurant, pub, Michelin graded restaurant or drive to an amazing array of venues serving Cornish cuisine. In the evening you might catch one of our glorious sunsets from the rocks at the dramatic harbour entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valency B&B Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing