We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boscastle - brilliant B & B”
Review of Valency B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boscastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valency B&B
Ranked #11 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boscastle - brilliant B & B”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

As others have said it is the lovely owners who make the stay so special. They are attentive and interested, but not overwhelmingly so. Our two night stay in the studio was perfect in every way. It has its own entrance from the driveway. There was room for our teenage son in roller bed in the lounge area, and we had the separate bedroom. The bed was SO comfortable but was only a double. The room is a cosy size but I think a Queen size bed could squeeze in. It was great to have our own TV in the bedroom with ample channels to choose from, as well as a TV in the lounge.

The kitchen is compact but had everything we needed to self cater. The washing machine was welcome but had no drier. Not a problem as Denise popped our washing in her drier for us. Be sure to bring your own washing powder. Bathroom was also very small - but perfectly formed. Just enough room for the toilet, small basin and shower.

The big highlight for us was the superb breakfast each morning. I will never forget that amazing hollandaise sauce! Poached eggs cooked to perfection and our son loved the pancakes. The variety on offer is better than most cafes. However be sure to book on a bed and breakfast basis soon as the owners are planning to wind back a bit and only offer self catering in the not too distant future. In any event the accommodation is outstanding and Valency will surely continue to go from strength to strength with or without the amazing breakfast.

Boscastle is an absolutely gorgeous village, we were pleasantly surprised by its charm. It is nice and close to Port Isaac which we visited as we're big Doc Martin fans. We throughly enjoyed our weekend in this delightful area and at his brilliant B & B.

Room Tip: We loved the studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetojourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
108
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have just returned from a very relaxing short break at "Valency" as soon as we arrived we felt at home and as always John & Denise gave us a lovely warm welcome. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable.The location is great you are in the the heart of Boscastle,but at "Valency"its so peaceful. At any time of the year this is a great place to stay!!

Thankyou so much for another lovely holiday!!

The Harveys

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harv793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed at Valency twice this year now and are going back again next june , i have to tell you although we have stayed in many nice places Valancy is the only one which we have returned to , on arrival you could not be made more welcome by Denise and John who understand that after a long journey you may want a cup of coffee / tea and buiscuits which are served up in their lovely large conservatory , with views out to the well stocked garden or outside in the sunshine . We have stayed twice in the blue room and have booked the four poster redc room for the next visit , they are both extra clean and bright with a lovely dressing table near the window for the light which i need to put make up on . The breakfast is something to be admired , John is the excellent cook and Denise is the hostess with the mostess , From a full cornish breakfast to a danish pastry , smoothies to fresh fruit , nothing is too much trouble for them .
With a wealth of information available to you about Boscastle and the cornish coastline , you could not fail to enjoy your stay here , highly recommended .Sonya and Shaun

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saff186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Denise and John are very welcoming and friendly. We have stayed in the self catering studio and B&B and both are very comfortable and have all you may need. There is a large choice of breakfast available. Valency is in a great location in beautiful Boscastle. We will be returning.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Welcoming and very friendly we stayed 5 days and had fantastic advice from Denise on places to go espcially the walks. the rooms are beautiful and the welcoming cup of tea in the conservatory was a really nice touch after our journey. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishG05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Valency is truly the most welcoming friendly B&B we have ever stayed in, this was our third visit and after a six hour journey we were met with a tray of tea and biscuits and a friendly welcome. John and Denise thank you we had a lovely anniversary weekend. There is such a vast choice of breakfasts which are cooked to perfection and the rooms are clean, bright and homely with beautiful crisp white linen and fluffy white towels. This is the perfect romantic retreat and I can not recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACAREY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Valency is a beautiful friendly b&b in the heart of Boscastle. Very friendly owners and was welcomed a pot of tea and a biscuit after a long journey. The accommodation is stylish, cosy and everything you need. We stayed in the self catering studio flat which was outstanding! We had everything we needed including washing machine, dishwasher and even a pint a milk in the fridge! We can't speak highly enough of both the accommodation and the hosts Denise and John. Denise even bought us a cream tea one evening free of charge and after a long day out and about it was a welcomed gift. Thank you for making our stay so lovely. Hannah and frankie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boscastle hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lower Meadows House
Lower Meadows House
#4 of 16 in Boscastle
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
The Old Rectory St. Juliot
#8 of 16 in Boscastle
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Boscastle
YHA Boscastle
#2 of 6 in Boscastle
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valency B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valency B&B

Property: Valency B&B
Address: Valency Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely eighteenth-century home, central to beautiful Boscastle, Area of Outstanding National Beauty. Stroll to the famous Harbour, scenic old village, Valency Valley or dramatic coast path. Excellent base for the West Country with Moorlands, Gardens, Heritage sites, Galleries, Rivers and Beaches all within easy reach. Choose a local restaurant, pub, Michelin graded restaurant or drive to an amazing array of venues serving Cornish cuisine. In the evening you might catch one of our glorious sunsets from the rocks at the dramatic harbour entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valency B&B Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing