We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great b&b”
Review of Valency B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boscastle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valency B&B
Ranked #11 of 16 Boscastle B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great b&b”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

second visit to this lovely place, Denise and John are very welcoming. Everything you could wish for is provided and the food is fantastic, Had a lovely stay and wish we were back there now.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totham58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
108
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Denise & John have thought of everything one would want or need to feel comfortable and at ease in a far away land. We enjoyed everything about our stay at Valency B&B and wish we had had more time to spend there. The food was wonderful - fresh fruit, the best eggs we've ever eaten, and yummy smoothies were just a few of the breakfast treats we enjoyed. The room was very clean, comfortable, and homey. The bed and bedding was superb! We arrived on their doorstep on a rainy afternoon, weary from the drive down from London. They greeted us warmly, gave us an excellent cup of tea, and instantly made us feel like we were good friends. Our stay at Valency B&B in Cornwall was the highlight of our trip. Cheers!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Blue Room. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnbaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We have stayed at The Valency , twice , first time was July 2010 , we stayed in the studio room , very comfortable and ideal for us as we came on our Motorycycle . The studio itself is very clean and comfortable , with everything you need .
We had a great time , and visited the Valency again Easter weekend 2011. This time we stayed in the Four Poster room , which again was really comfortable and very clean , with great views of the village.
On both occassions Densie & John have been fantastic hosts , welcoming us with a lovely pot of tea and biscuits , just what we needed after our long drive from Kent.
Johns' cooked cornish breakfast is great and there is a good choice of lighter breakfasts as well, Denises' homemade marmalade is fabulous !

We would recommend The Valency to anyone looking to stay in this part of Cornwall . Boscastle is an ideal base for exploring the area.

We will be back ;-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSCKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Denise and John are exceptional hosts, a warm welcome, excellent service and very helpful. The four poster bedroom was beautiful and breakfast delicious, 5 star accommodation at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srussell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2011

Our second time with Denise and John in their lovely home. Last year we opted forB & B for a couple of nights in the lovely pink room with the delicious breakfasts. This year we opted for the self catering studio, which we enjoyed equally as much. it gave us the freedom to come and go, and eat when we please. We like to go on the many glorious walks in the area, and found when we returned in the evenings shattered , we could make our evening meals and then relax in the lovely surroundings. John and Denise are so nice and nothing is too much trouble, we can't wait to return, again and again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgoodwin1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Valency for three nights.
Valency is a fantastic B&B and right in the heart of picturesque Boscastle.
Our room was decorated very tastefully and spotlessly clean.The bed was so comfortable with lovely bedding. Hard to leave in the mornings!
Breakfast was served in the conservatory each morning and was cooked to perfection - there was a very nice choice if you did not want a full English.
Denise and John were very friendly and helpful hosts and to their credit one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever stayed in.
If you want a quiet relaxing stay in Boscastle this is the B&B for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHolidays1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

we stayed here to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary, the room we stayed in was the blue room, warm welcome , very friendly atmosphere ,lovely spotless room, the food at breakfast was delightful, my wife and are also avid walkers and once Denise and John knew this they made suggestions about some of the fantastic walks around the area.
all in all a great place to stay, we would recommend "VALENCY" to everyone

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fergs1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boscastle hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside
The Riverside
#2 of 16 in Boscastle
549 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lower Meadows House
Lower Meadows House
#4 of 16 in Boscastle
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
YHA Boscastle
YHA Boscastle
#2 of 6 in Boscastle
56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bottreaux House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Boscastle House
Boscastle House
#10 of 16 in Boscastle
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valency B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valency B&B

Property: Valency B&B
Address: Valency Penally Hill, Boscastle PL35 0HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Boscastle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely eighteenth-century home, central to beautiful Boscastle, Area of Outstanding National Beauty. Stroll to the famous Harbour, scenic old village, Valency Valley or dramatic coast path. Excellent base for the West Country with Moorlands, Gardens, Heritage sites, Galleries, Rivers and Beaches all within easy reach. Choose a local restaurant, pub, Michelin graded restaurant or drive to an amazing array of venues serving Cornish cuisine. In the evening you might catch one of our glorious sunsets from the rocks at the dramatic harbour entrance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valency B&B Boscastle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing