We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service ever!!”

The Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Boscastle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Riverside's restaurant offers a choice of services when it comes to its restaurant. For a formal affair with the evening restaurant set-up elegantly for a superb dining experience, you can choose from an à la carte menu with exceptional food complemented by an extensive list of fine wines. Alternatively, the daytime tearoom is perfect for informal lunches, meals and afternoon teas. Leading from the dining room is access to our exclusive tea garden next to the running waters of the River Valency.
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best service ever!!”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Dropped in to this restaurant (with accommodation) on a whim whilst on holiday in the area, and certainly didn't regret it! Wonderful location, fantastic staff, great food & wine, and 'proper' linen on the tables. We were greeted by a cheerful waiter, and seated in the cosy back room, near the area where guests went in order to pay - it appears that they get a lot of repeat bookings, (if the many friendly hugs and kisses exchanged as people left, were anything to go by!!) Plenty of variation on the menu, with plenty of fresh fish, lobster, etc; not to mention some nice steak, pork, and vegetarian dishes. Sumptuous desserts too, and even though we were quite full we just had to make space for the white chocolate and malteser cheesecake - yum!!! We were made to feel like friends rather than customers, although our waiter was also polite, respectful and efficient. We will certainly be back next time we are in Boscastle, as we plan to, now that we know such excellent eateries are in the area! The accommodation looks good too, according to the little card presented to us as we left! Bookings are advisable, although they did manage to squeeze us in when they were busy, our waiter promised us a much better table next time we came in!! Apparently they also offer a loyalty scheme of some sort, as we were asked if we were likely to be coming back, sadly we were due to go back the following day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    204
    69
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So good we went back!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The first night we had booked at the Wellington Hotel bar, but we were so disappointed by the cool welcome and empty bar that we decided not to stay.
We went to the Riverside on spec, and they were very helpful, clearing a table and fitting us in almost immediately.
We had a really lovely meal in the busy and cosy restaurant, and enjoyed it so much we went back the following evening, unusual for us as we normally like to try different places.
It was a good choice though as we had another really good meal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChrislizD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Smarter than average tourist venue”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Ate lunch here whilst on holiday. Sat on the terrace facing the river.
Very pleasant location. Food good. Service polite and efficient. The indoor areas appeared to be very well-kept and above the general standard for tourist eateries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeandMrsJ0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, decent price, local to Boscastle House (5 min walk)”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The food wa of a good quality and service for us was good, will return there next time in Boscastle.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton Uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went to this restaurant when looking for somewhere in Boscastle to eat and after reading the menu's outside everywhere else decided we would spend our Wedding anniversary celebration dinner here. It was a good choice. We had Sweet potato and swede soup for him and Mackerel Pate for me to start followed by Half a Lobster for him and I had the Seafood salad. The meals were tasty and generously portioned. I was offered the dessert menu which I perused but then refused as I was too full! The waiter accidentally knocked over my husbands pint of Sharps Special bitter when clearing our starter plates and was most apologetic, he mopped up and replaced with a fresh one immediately for free. He was a pleasant and helpful waiter.
The bill was very reasonable. Only disappointment was we would have liked a table with a view. If we wanted a table with a view they only had a table that they needed back by 19:30 and therefore we could only have a main course so we declined this offer.
I would love to go back here again if we ever come to Cornwall again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LutonUkLyndyloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Riverside Restaurant also viewed

 
Boscastle, Cornwall
Boscastle, Cornwall
 

Been to The Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing